Begin Again and Repeat Again

Photography is like a lovely circle

Shital Morjaria
Full Frame
3 min readMar 9, 2024

--

The photographs shared here are from my ongoing series Beach stories.

©Shital Morjaria

Have you heard about this concept called the beginner’s mind? If you haven’t already, the beginner’s mind means a perspective that involves an open mind without any baggage or preconceived notions. Having a beginner’s mind helps in keeping every experience fresh. In photography cultivating it can enhance creativity and allow one’s craft to evolve.

©Shital Morjaria

This has been my experience every time I have photographed a particular beach in India. Interestingly each time I go there and purposefully with a beginner’s mind, I feel the same sense of wonder and appreciation that I had felt the first time I visited it. The emotions that I experience through this approach are reflected in my photos as well. This process also allows me to experiment and push my creative boundaries to the next level.

©Shital Morjaria

I think having a beginner's mind is not enough, repetition in photography is equally important. By visiting the beach year after year, I can create new visual narratives. I notice a little more each time, I observe newer elements each time and I capture something different each time.

Going back to a subject or a landscape allows me the liberty to experiment and make mistakes and then the opportunity to correct them. Revisiting the scene gives me the chance to get a better photograph. I can also try out varied story-telling elements combined with technical possibilities. The idea here is to push the boundaries, reflect and refine till I get the result I desire.

©Shital Morjaria
©Shital Morjaria

Reappearing at a scene has allowed me to attempt to build a body of work. Over the years, I have developed a comfort level and familiarity with these beach visits. Photographing here has given me a signature style that is perhaps perceptible to others as well. Cultivating a beginner’s mind along with repeating my subject many times has led me to document change and transformation on the beach and its surroundings. This effort I hope will feed into the visual diary that I am creating to document the seascape and the passage of time.

©Shital Morjaria

Thanks so much for stopping by here! I am a media professional and a self-taught photographer based in Hyderabad, India. My interests are landscape and street photography. You can check out and connect with me on my Instagram handle where I am most active: https://www.instagram.com/morjariaphotography/

--

--