Photography, Lenses, and Manual Focus

Experimenting with a Manual-focus Lens During a Moody Calm Before a Storm

Old Decatur Cemetery is lost in time

Randy Runtsch
Full Frame
Published in
7 min readMay 9, 2024

--

Decatur Cemetery was established in 1826 in Decatur, Georgia. © Randy Runtsch.

Twenty-five days have passed since I arrived in Decatur, a small city amid the ever-burgeoning Atlanta metropolis. Three full days remain.

I will not miss the Atlanta area in general. But I will miss my loving wife and our sweet cat, Muffin, who will stay behind.

I will also miss Decatur Cemetery.

© Randy Runtsch.

I have trod the graveyard’s sod and its gravel footpaths 20 times in these 25 days.

The graveyard has two parts: the old cemetery to the south and the new cemetery to the north.

The new cemetery is mown and replete with gravesites from the early twentieth century onward. It looks like any of the dozens of American cemeteries where I have attended graveside services, walked gently among gravesites, or driven past.

--

--

Randy Runtsch
Full Frame

Writer | Photographer | Outdoor Lover | Adventure Cyclist | Business Owner | Data Analyst | Software Developer