“My Cancer Scare Led To A New Career in Photography”

I’ve never looked back

Susie Kearley
Full Frame

--

Ian at a match — Image courtesy of Ian Randall Photography

When Ian Randall from the UK was forced to retire from work on health grounds, he found new purpose in volunteering as a photographer for a cancer charity. He’s since developed a passion for sports photography and has turned his hobby into a career.

I met Ian at a photography class at the start of our respective freelance careers. He was recovering from cancer treatment and suffering from brain fog. Yet he tackled each new challenge with great positivity and enthusiasm. I was inspired by his incredible shots and how he went on to make professional connections and become recognised for his stunning sports photography.

Ian was as a Fire Officer for 18 years, until he was diagnosed with Ewing’s Sarcoma (bone cancer) in 2010. He made a good recovery but health issues meant he was unable to resume his old life.

Freelancing gives you control

Self-employment made it easier for Ian to manage his health issues. As a freelance writer myself, I’m able to balance my health and emotional needs with the demands of work. I’m in control of my hours, environment, and workload. Ian needed this kind of flexibility, too.

--

--

Susie Kearley
Full Frame

Freelance writer UK. Outrageous opinions. Occasionally offends by accident. Covers writing, health, psychology, memoir, current affairs, copyright, environment.