My Dilemma with Analog vs. Digital

Choosing between mediums

Felix John Attard
Full Frame

--

Reading Time (Photo by the Author)

In my daily life, I struggle when choosing between analog and digital. This happens with watches, books, music, writing, and of course photography. The list goes on.

Me being me, I sat down and took some notes in a notebook. I came up with the following observation that might help me better understand why I sometimes like one medium over another. Hopefully, this will relate to your readers out there and they’ll get some benefit from it.

Choosing between mediums.

For me, choosing between mediums is always a difficult decision. Digital be it in smartwatches, cameras, music equipment, or digital note-taking will always be more practical. In fact, digital always followed the analog method and improved on its shortcomings. So why do I struggle to choose? Why do I always have difficulty on what to choose between the two mediums?

The answer is simple. Although digital is better in nearly everything, analog, on the other hand, gives you something that, although not perfect is more interesting and has character.

Take a mechanical watch as an example. It will never have the features of a smartwatch. It will never have a GPS, heart rate monitor, step recorder, or Bluetooth functionality to connect to your phone and other…

--

--