On 52 Week Photography Project — November

From the mountains to the sea and back into the past

Jesse R. Barker
Full Frame

--

All photos by author

The tasks for this month pushed my thoughts to places around the world and to my past.

So this collection of responses does not follow any pattern or theme, rather it is a bubbling of emotions, observations, and memories.

Mirror Image–Get reflective

Reflection, be it a physical manifestation or mental state, requires stillness for clarity. Nothing is more still than a remote mountain lake in the early morning.

This photo is the calm of Purple Lake, in the high reaches of the California Sierra Nevada Range. My son and I were hiking a 60-mile stretch of the John Muir Trail south of Mammoth Lakes. We had made camp next to the lake the night before.

The altitude and less than comfortable sleeping pad triggered an early rise for me. The sun was not far ahead as I made my way, camera in hand, to the lake’s edge.

My early morning session captured this shot. A photo of a place unhindered by human touch.

Majestic mountains, clear glass water and a soft touch of morning mist led to an easy photograph layup.

--

--

Jesse R. Barker
Full Frame

Retired these days but still working to improve myself. An avid photographer I am always learning to look at the world in new ways while telling a good story.