Photo Immersion — The Delicate One

Thoughts and feelings evoked by an image of delicacy.

davíð matthías
Full Frame

--

Photo by author

Sometimes words seem unnecessary.

I’ve been staring at this image for a few minutes, trying to come up with something that would adequately describe this beautiful flower.

All I can say is that the more I gaze on this image, the more I see.

It would be easy to go straight in and look at the plant itself, but let’s focus on the blur. There’s not much to observe, but that’s not the point.

The point is that in everything, there’s something else. You might say there’s more than one side to a story. Whether it’s clear or blurred, what you see with your eyes is sometimes markedly different from what someone else is seeing.

The struggle with delicacy

Everything about this image is delicate. I’m even feeling I have to type carefully on my keyboard.

Photographically speaking, it took me a good few seconds to achieve a focus on the flower. Sometimes my lens struggles with small or thin objects. I had to focus on my hand to help the lens realise its object was close-up rather than far away, and then it had no problem.

--

--