Photographing the Malta National Aquarium

Felix John Attard
Full Frame
Published in
5 min readOct 25, 2023

--

Discus fish (Photo by the Author)

From when I was around 10 years old, I always had a fascination with aquariums. I still remember the day when I got my first aquarium at home filled with different types of fish, most of which did not go well together. Being ignorant of the subject, it did not matter. I was happy just seeing them swim and navigate around the aquarium, noticing their behaviour.

Fast forward to the present day and well, I don’t own an aquarium anymore. Being an individual with loads of interests, I had to prioritize and for now, keeping an aquarium is not at the top of my list. Still, my interest is there.

Therefore it is only natural that from time to time I feel the need to visit the National Aquarium we have in Malta. For me, the experience is very calming and the aquarium is like my childhood dream — it’s huge (compared to my home aquarium). On each visit, I like to take my camera to take photos of the different species of fish that are on show.

Photographing Aquariums

Photographing in aquariums presents its challenges. Most of the time, these places are a bit dark and the thick glass of the aquarium will exhibit a bit of a tint. There is also the issue of reflections on the glass. All of this is made more challenging when shooting in a crowded environment.

--

--