“Hmmmm, what’s over there?” ©Ian Hanson

Photographing Wildlife in Yosemite National Park

aka ‘That’s So Raven’

Ian Hanson
Full Frame
Published in
3 min readFeb 19, 2024

--

I’ll put it out there, I hadn’t gone to Yosemite National Park in February with any expectations of seeing any amount of wildlife.

In fact I was here for a completely different spectacle, that of the illustrious and elusive Firefall. Here’s the article that inspired me to go.

Now while that sight was reason enough for me to drive from Minnesota not one, but two years in a row, there are many other things to see and do in the park. And there had better be, because at max the Firefall lasts twenty minutes daily. That leaves a lot of time for whatever else you want to do.

In order to keep my budget to an affordable rate, I opted to visit the park during the week and stay in the ‘dirtbag’ or ‘climber’ campground, Camp 4. This is a tent-only campground, where you walk all of your supplies in from the parking lot to your assigned space. Little did I realize when I picked this spot, I would also be choosing the only location that would afford me views of wildlife for the week.

Speaking with the person at the Exploration Center, I was told that valley wildlife was…

--

--