Life through the Lens of the Camera

The Photographers Daughter

My memories of a young woman exploring the art of photography

Jesse R. Barker
Full Frame
Published in
6 min readJan 16, 2024

--

All photos by Morgan Barker

“Taking a picture is like giving a piece of your soul away. You allow other people to see the world through your eyes.”
— Katja Michael

My oldest child, Morgan, was a gentle soul with a big heart. Gifted with an artistic touch, she played the guitar, composed music, painted, and danced. A bundle of energy she was.

Included in this bubbling youthful package was a natural desire to record life as she saw it. Even at a young age, she maintained a journal. Diligently recording observations on the day’s events. She liked to keep us informed as well. I can still see her spinning like a top, ponytail swinging, as she reported the day’s events at school in rhyme.

It was no surprise when she developed an interest in photography. I am not sure what triggered her curiosity. Perhaps watching me record our family life motivated her. Or perhaps after years of being my subject, she decided to switch to the other end of the camera.

I could see the spark, so I started her with an old Polaroid camera. I gave her a quick tutorial and after…

--

--

Jesse R. Barker
Full Frame

Retired these days but still working to improve myself. An avid photographer I am always learning to look at the world in new ways while telling a good story.