The Time I Tried To Shoot Ice Hockey

The Idea of Shooting Indoors Seemed Appealing

Sean Chandler
Full Frame

--

Rose Abbott 15 of Leeds Roses has full control of the puck against Kingston Diamonds at Planet Ice, Leeds, England © Sean Chandler / SPP

Early on in my journey as a sports photographer, I found myself facing a new challenge - Ice Hockey. This tale may pique the interest of our North American readers, and I anticipate learning more about the intricacies of Ice Hockey from your comments. It was December 4th, 2022, and after struggling with the dim floodlights and wintry conditions of lower league men’s football (or soccer for our North American friends), the idea of shooting indoors seemed appealing. Little did I know, It was colder inside!

This assignment came from an agency requesting coverage of a competitive and newsworthy women’s sport. As a freelance shooter, my task was to capture the action and send the photos back for review. Despite my efforts to connect with women’s football teams, I hadn’t made much headway. So, when the only positive response came from an Ice Hockey club, I eagerly accepted the opportunity.

Leeds Roses (R) and Kingston Diamonds (L) Line up Post match after Leeds Roses secure a 9–4 win at Planet Ice, Leeds, England © Sean Chandler / SPP

The venue was an ice rink nestled near Elland Road, home to Leeds United Football Club. Upon arrival, I was greeted by a surprising sight — a crowd of photographers. I learned that the ice rink had opened a…

--

--

Sean Chandler
Full Frame

Hello, I'm Sean Chandler, an accredited photojournalist with a diverse background in sports photography. Explore my work at seanchandler.info 📸✨