Using AI to Create Photo Art

Troy Larson
Full Frame
Published in
5 min readJul 18, 2023

--

AI is not the end of photography. It’s just a new era.

all photo art by author

Of the things I do strictly for pleasure, creating creepy, spooky art on dark topics is one of my favorite things. I recently shared one of my works on social media and tagged a local art association. They reshared my post and asked “What do we think of AI art, members?”

It was nice that they reshared my post, but there’s also a little snark in that “What do we think of AI art, members?” isn’t there? It’s not a secret that anti-AI voices are loud in the art community right now, and exhorting their followers for feedback… it was almost like they were inviting others to take shots at me.

No offense taken, ma’am, but let me make this point.

If I took the photo, and most people consider photography “art,” how does adding some AI-assisted rendering based on my input make it less legitimate art?

Original photo by author
“Portent of Doom” / photo art by author

To be honest, I don’t even see the point of view that everyone needs to be “notified” that AI was used to create a…

--

--

Troy Larson
Full Frame

UntilNightFalls.com | Unagented Fiction Author | 3x Top Writer on Art, Rock Music, Photography. Digital Content Producer. Broadcast veteran.