Travel Photography

You’re Packing Too Much Photography Gear!

You only need 5 things.

Bennett Johnson
Full Frame

--

Photo by lucas Favre on Unsplash

When you take a picture what are you using? A camera and a lens. How is that camera powered? A battery, which is charged by a charger. And, how do you hold that expensive package? A specialty bag made for cameras. What more do you need? It seems to me that with these 5 things, you could easily create a great image.

So why do people lug around countless lenses, numerous filters, and a drone they have only used once, on top of that dozens of other useless items they might never need. The answer to that question lies in the “what if.” What if you need to get a cool aerial shot? What if you see some wildlife and need a heavy telephoto? What if you need a 5th battery because you took more photos than you thought? Next time you travel, cut down on every what if, and only bring these 5 essential pieces of gear.

Canon 24–105 f/4:

Image Credit: Steve Huff

Canon’s L Series Kit lens is almost perfect for the modern landscape photographer. For brief spurts of travel or day trips, this is my go-to lens. It maintains an f/4 aperture through the wide range of focal lengths, and has all the sharpness you could ever want in an L-Series lens (canon’s big fancy and very overpriced line of professional lenses) Now on longer trips and special occasions, a wider zoom like the 14–35 f/4 may be needed, or for darker situations, a 50mm 1.2 could be used, but this versatile lens is always in my bag.

Canon R6:

Photo Credit: 5050travelog

I’m a Canon shooter as you can already tell. Not that I’m a die-hard fan of the brand, but their gear matches my needs quite well. For me, the Canon R6 is a perfect balance of price and performance. Since this camera doesn’t break the bank in the way that a flagship model might, but still provides features that the lower models do not, I am a huge fan. Also, the portability on this camera is good compared to some of my previous DSLRs, but if I had the cash to invest in a smaller body like the Leica M series, I might. The R6 is a jack of all trades and at the moment it satisfies all my needs.

USB C Cable gen 2 and Batteries:

Photo by Mika Baumeister on Unsplash

Batteries are a given, but next time you put that bulky charger in your bag, consider this: most modern cameras can charge with a USB C cable. Isn’t that incredible? It’s a simple and effective way to cut down on size and weight on your next trip.

Curricular Polarizer:

Photo by Jordan Brierley on Unsplash

We hate em, but we need em. Polarizers are used in a negligible amount of shots, but they can make a big difference in those few. Whether you choose to cut this item from your list is your choice, but I always bring one along.

Camera Sling or Cube:

Image Credit: dpreview ‘peak design camera sling’

I despise camera bags. Despite thousands of dollars spent, I am yet to find a camera bag that justifies its size and offers all the features I need. Besides, with this tiny list, you couldn’t even fill half of one. When I bring the bare essentials, often I use a camera sling or cube. Bring a camera cube if you are planning on ditching it in the hotel room. If you need protection for your camera while you’re on location, bring a camera sling.

Weight Matters:

I’ve lugged around many heavy bags, it’s not fun. A heavy bag could make the difference when getting the shot. Plus, don’t you want to enjoy photography and not juggle gear for the entirety of your trip?

Thanks for reading edition_009, we’ll be back tomorrow, the day after that, and every day after that with another exciting post. Feel free to follow me to get more of these stories and support my writing.

--

--

Bennett Johnson
Full Frame

New stories daily at 8:00am (ET). Hey! I'm Bennett Johnson, and I post content surrounding photography and travel.