How Walking to Work Can Improve Your Quality of Life and Overall Happiness

David Jackson
FullStack Labs
Published in
3 min readMay 10, 2016
A view of my walk to work through midtown Sacramento’s “urban forest”.

Before moving to Sacramento, I spent 5 years living and working in Silicon Valley and San Francisco, which is to say, I spent too much of my time sitting in traffic on the 101. That time was spent in complete and utter frustration and worry that the guy behind me was going to rear-end me because he’s trying to multitask his commute. I’d arrive at work stressed out and not mentally prepared for the day ahead. My creativity and motivation were squashed. Then, at the end of the day, I’d get back on the 101 and surround myself with angry drivers whose sole goal was to get home as fast as possible and at any cost. Talk about a recipe for a substandard life!

This all changed when I moved to Sacramento about 4 years ago to start FullStack Labs. We bought and remodeled an old, 1912 craftsman in midtown Sac, just 8 blocks from the FullStack office. Since moving, I’ve been able to walk to work with my business partner Mike everyday. No more sitting in interminable traffic, wondering if I’ll make it into the office or if I’ll be detoured to the hospital after an accident. Now, I get to enjoy the outdoors, get some exercise, and pick up coffee from my favorite coffee shop, all in less time than it used to take me to go two freeway exits each morning.

Before initiating my walking-commute, it would seem like weeks would go by without getting outside, now it’s an everyday affair. And I’m forced to get exercise each and every day…no matter how busy my day is, my exercise is built in, so it can’t be skipped. Sure, sometimes it’s cold and sometimes it’s rainy, but walking in the rain can actually be pretty cool, and it’s something I wouldn’t voluntarily do otherwise. And walking home gives me an opportunity to wind down from the day, instead of keeping a death grip on my steering wheel while I stop, go, stop, go, for 30 miles.

Not everyone can be fortunate enough to have a walking commute, and I hope that city planners will begin to take into account the health, community and environmental benefits that come with placing homes within close proximity to business and city centers. For those that do have to drive, consider parking your car 8–10 blocks from your place of work and continue the rest of the way on foot. This is a good compromise and offers many of the same benefits, without having to find a new job closer to home.

Too often people think that happiness is a destination to be reached. In reality, it’s the small things you do on a daily basis (like walking to work) that add up to a happy life. So give it a shot and see how it improves your quality of life.

--

--

David Jackson
FullStack Labs

CEO at @FullStack_Labs.co, entrepreneur, sailor, scuba diver, carpenter, cyclist, competitive chess player, husband, dogfather, and soon to be dad.