How Far Would You Go to Save Your Sister?

Chris
Fully Fiction
Published in
5 min readJan 21, 2020

‘Anything’ might not be far enough.

“What are you willing to do to save your sister?” The text on my phone read. Unknown number.

My sister has been missing two days now and we have no idea what happened. She never had troubles at home and never threatened to leave. She turned 18 recently and maybe she wanted some freedom, but it isn’t like her to run away.

I stared at the phone. Clueless and bewildered, I responded.

“Anything.”

The phone pinged back.

“Hope you don’t regret that.”

I remember feeling frustrated. Some random guy finds out about my sister’s disappearance and wants to make a sick joke of it. People can be so shallow. My phone pinged again.

“Do everything I ask of you and I’ll give your sister back.” Attached was a picture of my sister. She was wearing exactly what she had on last I saw her. This felt too credible. Too real, too disgusting.

“Alright, tell me what has to be done,” I said.

“Your friend Joe. He’s cheating on his girlfriend. Meet up with both of them and break the news to her. Do it in public.”

Then the message disappeared.

Joe was my best friend. But he couldn’t be cheating on Sarah, could he? They’ve been together since high school.

“Fine.” I replied.

I texted Joe.

“Hey man, haven’t seen you or Sarah in a while. Let’s all grab dinner tonight. It’ll be fun.”

It’ll be fun. Yeah, right. None of this will be fun.

“Sounds good man, Olive Garden 8:00?”

“See you then.”

I pulled into Olive Garden with nerves, fears, and frustration.

Joe and Sarah were already seated and I joined them. There was no easy way to do what I had to do, so I took the band-aid approach.

“Sarah, I really hate to tell you this but Joe is cheating on you.”

“Are you serious?”

“Unfortunately.”

Silence. Then tears. Pure heartbreak hurts to the core and I felt her pain.

“I’m so sorry Sarah, it was just a few times and I was drunk,” he said.

Sarah got up and left without saying a word.

“What the fuck? You asshole, you invite me to dinner for this? Fuck you.”

Joe stormed out. My phone buzzed.

“Good job. Wasn’t so hard was it? Now the real fun begins. As you’ve noticed, all my messages to you self-delete. Screenshot a message and your sister dies. Trust me I’ll know. You’ll never be able to explain your actions to Joe so don’t even try. Now, next task. Your family and girlfriend both love you. Want your sister back and they need to hate you irreparably. I’ll let you get creative with this one. Good luck.”

“Alright.” I responded.

This whole thing was getting ridiculous but I had no choice. He sees everything I do and he’d know if I didn’t follow through. I couldn’t explain these texts without sounding like an unbelievable maniac. I had to do it and that was that.

I knew the next night my entire family was getting together as a showing of solidarity/support for the disappearance of my sister. I had to do it then, but how? I had no dirt to spill on my family, and how could I just turn an entire family against me? And my girlfriend all in the same night?

I did have one idea, but it made me sick to think about. I vaguely knew the man who captured my sister. I had to make up a story how I pawned my sister off to this man for some money. Once my sister is returned, she could shed light on my lie and everything would sort itself out I figured.

As for my girlfriend, I guess that was the simple part. I’d have to dump her in front of my entire family. I loved this girl and truly meant to marry her. But, again, it’s a small price to pay for my sister’s life. I had to do what I had to do. I couldn’t think, I just had to do it.

The next evening rolled around and I was not prepared to face the next few hours. Unfortunately, prepared or not did not matter.

As everyone poured in, I realized more people showed up than expected. Quite a few people from the community showed up as well. My girlfriend Michelle came through the door and I greeted her with the biggest, sweetest hug; knowing it was going to be our last.

As the gathering was finally around max-capacity, I realized I had to do something.

“Everyone! I need to do something in front of everyone here. I need you all to be a witness to this.”

Everyone turned stared. Oh God. I knew I had to make this grand. I knew my sister’s captor was watching. Go big or go home.

I got down on one knee, grabbed Michelle’s hand and said as bluntly as possible:

“Michelle, we’ve been through a lot. The good, and the bad, but I’m sorry to say there’s been too much bad. We’re through.”

I could hear the gasps and I think I could hear Michelle’s heart breaking. I hope to God she heard mine break too.

Predictably, Michelle ran out crying and the spotlight was solidly on me. Well, what did I tell myself? Go big or go home.

“Listen everyone, I have some news.” I said. “I sold my sister off. I really needed the money and she was good for nothing else, really. Call me whatever you like, but there you have it. I’m leaving town tomorrow and wanted everyone to have the truth. So you don’t waste your time looking for someone already gone.”

Everybody was too shocked to move. Leaving everyone in their shock, I walked out. Any longer and I would have been subject to rage and misunderstanding. I booked myself a hotel for the night and got in bed, feeling both shameful and hurt, but proud. Proud knowing I was doing the brave thing to save my sister. Hurt knowing I lost the love of my life. Shameful knowing my family hated me.

My phone buzzed.

“Nice job. But your sister is dead already. Hope you have fun grieving alone. No family, no friends, no girlfriend.”

--

--