5 Suggestions for a Better 2018

Or You Could Just Wake Up Hungover, Again.

Billy Frazier
Fumbling Forward

--

Let’s face it: you’re going to make yet another New Year’s resolution.

And just like everyone else, you’re going to fail.

Hey, don’t shoot the messenger! I’m in the same boat you are. It’s hard for any of us to make a significant change, especially paired with the massive expectation that comes with the new year.

After all, we’re only human. We’re messy, imperfect creatures that want what we can’t have. In our quest to find greener grass, we unconsciously set ourselves up for failure.

Instead of doing the same thing and expecting different results (i.e. insanity), try these five suggestions for starting off the new year right.

1. Don’t make a resolution; create a sustainable habit.

Like I mentioned, it’s natural to get caught up in all of the hype and declare grand, sweeping resolutions for the new year. Resist falling into the same trap by focusing on sustainable habits.

What makes a habit? According to Charles Duhigg, a habit loop is made up of:

  1. A trigger — A catalyst that tells your brain to switch into autopilot in order to complete the routine.
  2. A routine — A physical, mental, or emotional process.
  3. A reward — The positive feeling that comes after completing the routine.

Do you want to run a marathon? That’s great, but highly unlikely unless you create a running habit. What could this look like?

Imagine placing your running outfit and shoes in front of your bedroom door. When you see them in the morning, this could trigger you into changing and going outside for a run. After completing this routine, you could come back inside and reward yourself with a nice cup of coffee.

Do this often enough, and it could become a daily habit, just like brushing your teeth (hopefully).

2. Create actionable steps for the first quarter of 2018.

Just like countless others, I told myself that I want to travel more in 2018. More specifically, I want to travel abroad to somewhere I’ve never been with my girlfriend. Instead of saving this as a pipe dream or resolution, I created an actionable first step towards this goal:

Book flights before the end of March.

Not only is this extremely actionable (either I book the flights or I don’t), it falls within the first three months of the year. This way, I have plenty of time to save for the flights, lodging, and anything else I may need to consider.

Giving yourself a tangible, realistic deadline helps give you that extra nudge towards your specific goal. Without this accountability, you can guarantee your resolution will go down in flames.

3. Get yourself a goddamn journal.

I can’t say I’ve made many life-altering decisions at this point, but journaling every morning is definitely one of them. I started writing over two years ago in order to share what I know with others (see #4), but I never thought this skill could come in handy while tracking my own thoughts and goals.

Peter Drucker, an Austrian-born American management consultant, is attributed with this famous quote:

“What get measured get managed.”

This couldn’t be any truer. How could you possibly accomplish any of your goals without constantly measuring how much progress you’ve made?

Each morning, my journal holds me accountable. After a few minutes of introspective writing, I’ll jot down three actionable steps I can take that day to chip away at a specific goal. During the following morning, I’ll check off the steps I accomplished and highlight the steps I failed to complete. This gives me an ongoing tally of how much progress I’m making and allows me to identify trends.

4. Share what you learn with others.

As I already mentioned, I started writing (almost every day) over two years ago, and it changed my life in many ways.

One of those ways includes sharing what I learn with people from all over the world. Thanks to a single article, I’ve sparked a conversation with others who are going through the exact same thing at the exact same time.

Most of the time, I simply write about my own ideas and what I’m doing to make them happen. You’d be surprised at how many others find value in these types of posts, sharing their thoughts in comments and on Twitter.

If you haven’t written in a while, try starting out small. Use #3 to get yourself more comfortable with sharing your thoughts through writing until you are confident enough to share them with others.

I guarantee, as soon as you see that first positive comment, you will never be the same.

5. Remind yourself of the future you want.

In all honesty, this is probably the hardest suggestion to complete, especially in a fast-paced world that considers “busy” and “productive” the same thing.

It’s far-too-easy to get wrapped up in our day-to-day lives instead of asking ourselves important questions, like:

Where do I want to be in the near future?

Where is the majority of my time and focus going each day?

Do my short-term actions align with my long-term goals?

When we circle back around with ourselves and ask these questions, we have a chance to course correct on the things that aren’t getting us closer to the future we want.

If you don’t take time to do this, you’ll poke your head up a few years from now and wonder how the hell you got there.

Hopefully, you’ll find these suggestions before you head out for New Year’s Eve. Even if you don’t, it’s never too late to start planning for the future you want instead of living the life you have.

Just make sure to bookmark this post so you can read through it again on January 1st when you’re hungover in bed. I guarantee it will make you feel better than watching Handmaid’s Tale on Hulu.

See you in 2018!

How are you going to make your 2018 better? Share your thoughts in the comments below or on Twitter at @williamfrazr.

If you found value in this article, please 👏 below and share with your friends so others can enjoy!

--

--

Billy Frazier
Fumbling Forward

Principal experience designer, writer, and leader who’s fumbling forward through a creative career while helping others do the same. fumblingbook.com