I Don’t Want To Get A “Real” Job

And I’m Sure You Can Relate

Billy Frazier
Fumbling Forward

--

Does this sound familiar?

If you identify as a freelancer or entrepreneur, I guarantee this thought has crossed your mind at least a few times.

Hell, it may even be a motivating factor (among many) behind your choice to work for yourself.

I have always had one main motivation for not getting a full-time job:

I do not want someone else defining what my success should look like.

For as long as I can remember, this motivation has resulted in my apparent issue with authority.

In most cases, I can’t seem to agree with the decisions of past managers or authority figures, even those that mean well. In the end, I always feel like something is missing.

Now I would be lying if I said I haven’t thought about joining the dark side.

Admittedly, I have secretly fantasized about getting a full-time job and enjoying some amount of financial stability.

Who wouldn’t?

Time after time, I am shaken out of this daydream by the harsh reality of self-awareness. Over the years, introspection has become a bigger part of my life. It’s during these moments of reflection that I work on piecing together my life’s purpose.

So far, I know I am meant to help others discover their own alternative paths to independence.

How could I possibly do this using someone else’s framework within someone else’s company?

Personally, I’m not sure I could. At least, I haven’t come across an organization that directly aligns with this purpose.

Who knows what would happen if I ever do.

Until then, I have no other choice but to continue forward because as of now, I don’t want to get a “real” job.

Do you work for yourself? Have you considered getting a “real” job? Share your thoughts in the comments below or on Twitter at @williamfrazr.

If you found value in this article, please clap 👏 below and share with your friends so others can enjoy!

--

--

Billy Frazier
Fumbling Forward

Principal experience designer, writer, and leader who’s fumbling forward through a creative career while helping others do the same. fumblingbook.com