This Is How I Found My Editor(s)

Because one just wasn’t enough

Billy Frazier
Fumbling Forward

--

Publishing a book comes with a lot of questions:

  • Should I self-publish?
  • Where do I market the thing?
  • How do I find an editor?

This last one can be particularly tough, especially if it’s your first time through. After all, you might be new to the world of writing and editors don’t just appear out of thin air.

That is, unless they do.

Back when I was starting my first book concept, I was freelancing and working out of a local co-working center. After striking up a conversation with a new member, I learned she happened to be a freelance writer and editor.1

At this point, I thought I was ready to take the plunge but after overthinking things, I quickly talked myself out of it and put this first book on ice.

It wasn’t until a few years later, after starting my second book concept, that I reached back out to this editor and asked if she was still available. It turns out she had moved away from St. Louis but she did, in fact, have some time to take on a new project.

We hopped on a call, talked through all of the details, and decided to go full-steam ahead. This time, I decided I wanted to try the traditional route…

--

--

Billy Frazier
Fumbling Forward

Principal experience designer, writer, and leader who’s fumbling forward through a creative career while helping others do the same. fumblingbook.com