This is Why I’m Using Substack to Market My First Book

There’s a method to my madness.

Billy Frazier
Fumbling Forward

--

When it comes to publishing a book, there are two truths:

  1. It has never been easier to write and publish a book.
  2. But it has also never been harder to market and distribute a book.

Thanks to Amazon, BookBaby, and other tools, the process for writing and publishing is so much more streamlined than it used to be. Not only that — with the inventions of print-on-demand and drop shipping, publishing a book is also cheaper than ever before.

Once something becomes easier to do and everyone starts doing it, the challenge now becomes setting yourself apart from the crowd and creating signal instead of more of the same noise.

As many of you know, I’m in the process of writing my first book and plan on publishing it later this year. But, as someone who has been writing and sharing creative projects online for more than a decade, I know how important it is to generate buzz before you officially launch something into the world.

Before I officially announced this book, I had to make one BIG decision related to growing an email list and promoting my book:

Should I learn how to use a more traditional e-mail marketing platform like Convert

--

--

Billy Frazier
Fumbling Forward

Principal experience designer, writer, and leader who’s fumbling forward through a creative career while helping others do the same. fumblingbook.com