You’re Doing Too Much

And It Will Come Back to Bite You in the Ass

Billy Frazier
Fumbling Forward

--

I’ve always been a little too ambitious for my own good.

This isn’t a humblebrag — it’s a tragic flaw that could ultimately bite me in the ass.

I can’t ever remember a time when I was satisfied with doing just one thing.

Even as a kid, I stumbled from one activity to the next, searching for that one thing that would both satisfy me and challenge me.

To this day, I still haven’t found it.

When I was younger, this drove me insane. I couldn’t take the constant disappointment of not meeting my own expectations.

However, with time and plenty of trial and error, I realized that it’s OK not to be satisfied with where you are in life.

This motivation can push you to do some pretty amazing things.

Unfortunately, it can also consume you and lead you down an unhealthy path, if you let it.

When this dissatisfaction is left unchecked, it can morph into destructive thoughts, feelings of hopelessness, and even deep depression.

In these cases, there are really only two things we can do:

  1. Lower our own expectations
  2. Make a conscious decision to try something else

Personally, I’m not a fan of asking less from myself, so I usually stick with trying something else. When doing this, the most important thing is to keep fumbling forward while getting rid of any excess baggage along the way.

Before taking on a new project or hobby, ask yourself one thing:

What can I let go?

It will be hard, but with each failed endeavor, you’ll learn valuable lessons that will help guide you in the future.

When you give yourself permission to let something go, you receive something infinitely more valuable:

Time.

We all know that time is definite, but our younger selves choose to ignore this fact and we tend to carry on like we’ll live forever.

Once we gain enough life experience, we realize that nothing truly amazing happens without focus and discipline.

This means letting go of the things that aren’t pushing you towards (your own definition of) success in the future.

This means saying no to quantity so you can say yes to quality.

This means facing the risk that comes with going all in.

It won’t be easy, but if you really want to see results in the future, you’ll have to start focusing on what matters now.

Are you doing too much? How are you juggling all of it? Share your thoughts in the comments below or on Twitter at @williamfrazr.

If you found value in this article, please 👏 below and share with your friends so others can enjoy!

--

--

Billy Frazier
Fumbling Forward

Principal experience designer, writer, and leader who’s fumbling forward through a creative career while helping others do the same. fumblingbook.com