Interview With Top Fun Run Players: Osubuckeyefever

Dirtybit Games
Fun Run Stories
Published in
4 min readJun 12, 2015

Our third super player for this blog series is Osubuckeyefever. He’s currently placed 2nd on Fun Run’s Top 50 ratings list with smashing 944620 in rating! His Fun Run journey started back in March 2013, and like many of our players he’s located in the US.

How and when did you first learn about Fun Run?

I actually have 2 small kids that started playing Fun Run around April or May of 2013. They wanted me to play with them. I was hooked right away. It didn’t take long before I wanted more of a challenge, so i started playing with random people.

Why do you keep playing Fun Run?

It is fun and challenging. I know that it can be frustrating at times, but for the most part it relaxes me.

How many times per week and for how long do you play?

I generally play in the evening after everyone has gone to bed. I would say that I play on average 4–5 days a week for about 1–2 hours. It just depends on how busy I am. I had no choice but to let Millwall take over the top spot when I decided to start a business on the side, on top of my full time job. Sometimes if we are not busy at work I am able to play there as well as at home.

What’s your favorite avatar, and what are your favorite accessories in Fun Run?

I like the looks of the golden monkey, with the crown and stars. However, I have gotten so used to the plain fox, that I feel uncomfortable using any other avatar. Sometimes I switch it up just for fun.

What’s your favorite map and why?

I like all of the maps that require skill instead of luck. All of the top players know which ones those are. But if I had to choose it would probably have to be Sunset Valley. I know it so well that I could probably run it blindfolded. Most importantly it is fun.

Do you often get contacted by other Fun Run players, and what do they say?

Not directly, but a friend of mine who follows the Fun Run page informed me that a lot of the Fun Run faithful were wanting to hear my voice. I don’t use twitter and I didn’t follow the Fun Run page regularly. I do however get bombarded with add requests. I stopped accepting them after awhile.

What other player do you see as the biggest challenge in Fun Run?

There are several of the top players that I have never crossed paths with…that I know of. But, to be honest, I usually don’t pay attention to usernames. Every once in a while I’ll see some names I recognize from the leader boards like Jaysmoove, Scottmann, ajdiaz, iWinOnYouHoes, or HaveASit. All of them are challenging, that is why they are among the top players. But none of them stand out in my mind as a major rivalry.

What do you think is missing from Fun Run?

I’m not sure that anything stands out to me as missing, but there are a few improvements I would like to see. Cheating and lag are big issues that stand out in my mind. Also, sometimes strange things will happen like getting the rocket power up 4 or 5 times in a row. It’s almost like you can sense when you are set up to fail and the odds are not even. But I guess that’s part of the challenge.

Do you have any funny stories related to Fun Run that you’d like to share?

There is one that I laugh at when I look back at it, but it wasn’t funny to me at the time. As you know, I usually have a high win % because I tend to focus on quality over quantity. Well, one time I maintained a winning percentage over 90% for a few days. The Fun Run cheat protection flagged me as a cheater based on my winning percentage alone. As a result, I would lose 1,000 rating points every game I played, no matter what place I finished in. Unfortunately I had to stop playing while it was investigated and I was eventually cleared about a week later.

Osubuckeyefever’s top tips

Remain focused and use common sense. If you are in last place and you know there is no chance to get first, don’t try to kill the guy in first with a sword. Sure, you might make him slip to second, but you will still finish last. Also, don’t just hit buttons as soon as you get a power up. Think about it before you make your move. After awhile it will come naturally and you won’t have to think about it anymore. Most importantly, have fun and don’t get angry!

--

--

Dirtybit Games
Fun Run Stories

Norwegian real-time multiplayer mobile game developer and creator of @TheFunRun and #funrun2. Facebook: http://fb.com/dirtybitgames