MANAGING BUSINESS AND FITNESS vol. 3

A series of journal entries for non-professional triathletes seeking to compete at a high level while balancing the demands of being an entrepreneur.

Funderbeam
Funderbeam Wire
Published in
5 min readFeb 22, 2018

--

written by Urmas Peiker

And So It Begins

The price of success is hard work, dedication to the job at hand, and the determination that whether we win or lose, we have applied the best of ourselves to the task at hand. — Vince Lombardi

Based on Marko’s result at the IRONMAN European Championship in Frankfurt on July 8th, 2017, he was informed that he qualified as a professional for the IRONMAN World Championship.

It was at this point, we could proceed with our plan to head to the US in September for nearly two months of intense training. For me, this also meant doubling down on the intensity as I would also have business travel throughout Asia as well as corresponding with the Funderbeam team in Estonia during this period.

Our plan was to spend the first three weeks in Tucson, Arizona, because of the heat, and then three more in Prescott, Arizona, for the altitude. We’d then leave for Hawaii and arrive in Kona just three days before race day. For those who are unaware, the conditions in Kona are quite hot and demanding in terms of changes in elevation so the training in Arizona was intended to simulate the conditions we would face in Hawaii.

Additionally, we chose this format because this was pretty much the same routine Marko had followed the year before so we spent very little energy scouting locations and logistics. On September 1st, we left Estonia for Phoenix eventually arriving at the home of an Estonian friend and fellow triathlon addict, Urmas Grossthal. As a true ally, he opened his doors, loaned us his equipment, and even helped prepare our meals.

The hot and exhaustive landscape in Arizona

During our short stop in Phoenix, I was offered my first opportunity to experience riding in a wind-tunnel. I did this for the purpose of properly fitting my bike, which would hopefully assist me in improving my efficiency during the 180.25 km IRONMAN ride.

In total, the tunnel fitting took about six hours: riding, adjusting handlebars, saddle, riding position, etc. Everything was filmed, analysed, and dissected to provide insights which would ideally improve my performance. Due to their recommended adjustments, I could immediately feel a difference in my body positioning. In my case, this meant moving my saddle forward so I could use the wider part of the saddle instead of straddling the nose. The change was small but it made an immediate impact.

Riding Positions: Old (left) and New (right)

I could feel how I was engaging my glutes much more in this new position. Both my old and new riding positions were tested in the tunnel and the figures confirmed that the new adjustment created the optimal position. But as the competition date was closing in, I would not risk adding more changes to my position and would instead compromise with the minor adjustments.

Altering your course of action, plan, or leader too dramatically in the middle of a project (training or business), is typically a recipe for disaster. It’s better to make small changes but generally stay the course and be consistent. Then reevaluate when the final results are in.

Don’t change horses in midstream.Proverb

This procedure is not cheap but if you truly want to improve your riding position, aerodynamics, and overall performance on the bike (and on the run after the bike), such professional and technical assistance is helpful. This process made me feel almost like a pro, so if you have the time and the means, I recommend it. Additionally, a wind tunnel may not be accessible to everyone so I don’t think that it is something that every amateur cyclist/triathlete should necessarily do.

However, a bike fitting with an experienced expert is a must. I had been struggling myself to find a good setup for TT and triathlon, and one experienced bike fitter, after seeing my initial set up said that I looked like “a dog humping a baseball.” A good fit and position on the bike means that you should be able to generate more power and be more aerodynamic. But it’s also important that you can actually be comfortable in your seated position for a long time so you can digest food properly (PS! eating and drinking properly on a bike during an IRONMAN competition is crucial and can determine your performance for the entire competition) and set yourself up for a strong run and finish.

If you want to learn from a professional like Marko, why not learn from him directly. He is actively training triathletes and shares information regularly online. You can follow or reach him on: Instagram, Facebook, or his website.

For the other professionals trying to balance their work and training schedule, I’d be interested to hear how and why you started competing?

Comment below or reach out via Twitter, LinkedIn, or train with me on Strava.

The transformation.

--

--

Funderbeam
Funderbeam Wire

The Global Funding & Trading Platform connecting ambitious companies with smart capital, and creating unique liquidity for investors.