The Great Spam Tsunami

Pam Saraga
Funny, Inc.
Published in
4 min readSep 13, 2024

--

Photo by Patrick Amoy on Unsplash

Riding the wave of junk mail

Like most people, I get a lot of emails. I am curious. I click on questionable sources. I do a lot of research for my articles.

Perhaps I have gone on one too many death searches. What is a death search, you ask?

That is where you start by looking up, recipes for meatloaf and wind up researching the cellular structure of a butterfly’s wing.

I’m pretty sure that death will find me in mid-Google search.

I have strayed from my point, as usual. The point is, why do I get so many odd emails?

Here are some examples

*One of the main email subjects in my feed is the length and condition of my penis.

*The internet has also found out that I’m very old. Maybe it’s the typing with my pointer fingers instead of my thumbs or my habit of using words with more than two syllables. However, my list of emails contains a plethora of anti-aging drugs.

*It seems that people are very interested in my bowel health.

*Everyone wants to increase my Social Security benefits.

*I get a lot of burial insurance offers.

*I guess they think I’m lonely, so they offer me ways to find and date old men.

--

--

Pam Saraga
Funny, Inc.

Old enough to see the issue & young enough to try and fix the problem.