ARE YOU A TECH OR TECH ENABLED STARTUP..?

Nader
FURM® Academy
Published in
3 min readJun 10, 2016

--

I wanted to clarify something.. in my mind, there’s a huge difference between a Tech Startup and a Tech ‘enabled’ startup. You see, unless this differentiation is made, many people will claim to be creating tech startups, who in reality are nothing more than tech enabled startups.

I myself love to focus much more heavily on tech enabled startups as they don’t necessarily require the great minds of engineers and massive new lines of code. In so many instances, this approach has allowed me to create new ideas without the necessity of tech innovation/invention.

Tech enabled startups allows for greater focus on speed to market and on user experience testing. Creating a tech enabled startup means creating a startup that leverages tech already out there. Whether you decided to use other peoples tech startups, or more established tech, it doesn’t really matter, so long as the tech you decide to leverage does the job you need it to do.

Here’s an example from my own recent experience.. when I first launched coworktheworld.com as a concept/beta version, it was just a website and a tech enabled startup with a plan to leverage an existing tech startup (i.e. “Travefy”) for all travel collaboration, communication and planning. Travefy is a funded tech startup. The technology had the grunt to deliver what I needed. Sure, I could have engaged with several engineers and spent tens of thousands of dollars to try to create my own product. But really, I would have distracted myself from the mission at hand at that moment in time.

Here’s my thinking around how to differentiate between tech vs tech enabled..

  • Leveraging the power of existing tech and creating new systems, processes, ideas and value for a pre-determined customer base..
    = TECH ENABLED STARTUP
  • Creating your own tech in order to solve a problem, enable end users or add extra value..
    = TECH STARTUP

coworktheworld.com = TECH ENABLED startup.

TRAVEFY = TECH startup.

SIMPLE!

So the next time you call yourself the ‘UBER’ of whatever it is you’re making or the next ‘hotshot’ tech startup, just remember to think twice.. are you really a tech startup, or a tech enabled startup?

PEACE & LOVE!

by Nader Luthera, you can find me on LinkedIn.

For more knowledge and learnings like this, follow/subscribe to FURM® Academy on YouTube, Twitter, Instagram and Facebook or download our app from the Apple Store.

--

--

Nader
FURM® Academy

I love writing about entrepreneurship, what the future might look like, tech innovation, product design and kindness.