Wallpapers: Fusion Meets Art

Colin
Fusion Energy
Published in
3 min readMar 18, 2024

Here are a few artistic wallpapers that resemble various concepts of fusion energy

For full-resolution downloads, simply right-click and select ‘Open Image in New Tab’ or similar. Then adjust the number in the link to ‘resize:fit:1920’ and press enter.

Truth is, I needed a new wallpaper and I had been relying on a very nice impression of a fusion reactor in Japanese style from a twitter post. It was about time, I would do my own ones with fusion as a theme.

One of the first tasks where generative AI showed its muscles was with changing the style of photos as painted by an artist. See for examples DeepArt who released the first version in 2015 (more than 8 years ago). Of course now we can not just change styles but simply generate new images in any style we want. It still takes several tries and longer commands but often it comes out well.

Fusion reactor in the style of Van Gogh.

Fusion is about the sun. Well, at least fusion happens “close” to us on a large scale and while solar panels harvest the product, humankind for the longest time tried to replicate that process. The human is watching the sun while understanding what happens.

Fusion in the sun in the style of Munch.

I also tried some more technical parts but in all honesty, the fine details didn’t come out well.

Gyrotron in style of Monet.
Plant technology from glove box input images in the style of Vermeer. (Really?)

After a few tries, I decided to take my creativity in a new direction. Isn’t fusion sometimes described as the “Sun in a Bottle”? That sounds not very technical and stylised at best, on the other hand, exactly what I needed for the next images.

Sun in a bottle in the style of Monet.
Sun in a bottle in the style of Warhol.

That came out well. But I am actually mostly working on the bottle in my everyday life. So I wanted to highlight what the bottle represents and that we have to connect this bottle to a whole lot of power plant related items. Clearly from previous experiments, I knew that the artist paintings wouldn’t work here so I had to use a more realistic style. This is what I came up with and I enjoy the cute table-top setting:

Fusion Bottle Pilot Plant

The content was generated by Midjourney (Version 6).

--

--

Colin
Fusion Energy

PhD in Astroparticle Physics. Former Chief Quant at SBI. Co-founder of Obolus. Kyoto Fusioneer.