At 45, I now age slower than the average 10 year old

Bryan Johnson
Future Literacy
Published in
2 min readApr 7, 2023

Using the DunedinPACE speed of aging algorithm, built from a multi-decade longitudinal study, I reduced my speed of aging by the equivalent 31 years in 12 months. The overall reduction is likely larger as I’d been on the Blueprint protocol for twelve months before taking my first test.

My speed of aging is:

  • slower than the average 10 year old
  • slower than 88% of 18 year olds
  • in the 94th percentile compared to those chronologically aged 45

A 31 year equivalent speed of aging reduction in 12 months

Speed of Age Data
Initial (3 test mean) .82
Recent (3 test mean) .73
Latest test .69

Q&A

You: Wait, does this mean your biological age is 10?

Me: It means that the pace my body accumulates aging damage is less than the average 10 year old.

You: I didn’t know that 10 year olds accumulate aging damage

Me: The body’s organs and biological processes begin accumulating aging damage at different ages and speeds. The older you get, the faster aging damage accumulates, compounding upon itself.

Biostatisical criteria used:

  • 3 test mean
  • Six month time minimum from first and third test
  • 20%+/- one off test outliers are excluded
  • Genetic identity testing used to prevent fraud

--

--

Bryan Johnson
Future Literacy

Founder of Blueprint, Kernel, OS Fund & Braintree Venmo