You should use Dwolla

Stop using Paypal. Stop paying 2.9% + $0.30

Justin Brouillette
2 min readMar 8, 2014

Have you heard of Dwolla? Most likely you haven’t. I promise I’m not employed or contracted to advertise for Dwolla. I’m just one of those proselytizing users startup founders talk about. I also lived in the midwest where they are based in Des Moines, IA. (I know you probably haven't heard of that either :-)

Back to the point. I’m not sure where I found Dwolla but I know now it’s pretty amazing. It almost seems too good to be true.

Dwolla is a payment network that allows any business or person to send, request and accept money. We’re not like those other big payment companies that rely on plastic cards and charge hefty fees. Instead, we’ve built our own network that securely connects to your bank account and allows you to…

…move money for just $0.25 per transaction, or free for transactions $10 or less.

Need to send $7.65 to a friend for covering your dinner? That’s free. What about getting paid for filming that wedding at an invoice of $4,900? Dwolla takes $0.25 of that. Yes, you get to keep $4,899.75.

I’ve used Dwolla since 2012 and love everything about it. I’ve heard founder, Ben Milne speak and he further convinced me of the superiorities of Dwolla’s security infrastructure beyond my simple user preferences and savings.

Now, I’m sure you've heard a few horror stories about Paypal and I won't go into those. However, if you simply compare the cost savings, especially if you’re an ecommerce user, the savings are drastic. If we go back to the previous $4,900 invoice example, Paypal would take $142.40 or 2.9% + $0.30 of your transaction.

Did Paypal really earn a fancy dinners worth of your money?

Shopify has just announced the acceptance of Dwolla payments and we quickly enabled payments on our Shop. However, we’re still waiting for our first payment with Dwolla; that’s the only problem.

For some strange reason, Dwolla adoption is quite slow past the very early adopters. Thus, the reason why I’m writing this today. Hopefully I can convince a few of you to try-out this excellent (and free) service.

I was going to post a referral link so I could have me some free transactions but then I thought… that’s ridiculous it’s only $0.25 per transaction. You know what else it’s cheaper than?

A stamp.

My first love Tweet about Dwolla

Try it out, dwolla.com

--

--

Justin Brouillette

Design enthusiast, Bicycler, Christian, Married, Twitter-er, Maker of Things, Entrepreneur, Founder @makecollab