First Post

James Marley
Future of the Smartphone
2 min readSep 24, 2018

The Future of Smart phones can mean a lot of different things. I will be investigating the future development of these devices, trying to find out what they’ll be able to do years from now. Finding out what more they will soon be able to control is interesting to me. Smart phones and smart watches have evolved to the point where they can measure how many steps you’ve walked and can even measure heart rate. I am personally interested in this topic because this smart technology has the ability to measure so many areas of life.

  • Will health companies start requiring patients to invest in these, if they have not already?
  • Will employers buy smartphones for all employees to always track their workers?

My work philosophy is to work smarter not harder, smartphones can already do that, but there is untapped potential. Everyone who currently owns a smartphone will benefit from my findings, my finding will give those people information about the upcoming advancements. However, currently I don’t know much about this topic, but I do own a smartphone. I know all of the functions phones can do, their capabilities, but have no idea for what is in store. My three questions would be:

  • How can we increase battery life?
  • Will the evolution of smartphones phase out laptops and tablets? (They’re more practical, can be used anywhere, and can fit in your pocket)
  • What can we do to have service (LTE, Cellular) from all parts of the globe?
  • Can these phones soon be indestructible?

These questions interest me because they’re critical to find what the future holds for these devices. A skill that would prepare for the future of smartphones would be a quick problem solver, as issues can pop up frequently on these devices. It takes days to understand that troubleshooting gets easier once you become familiar with the smartphone.

--

--