Is it all worth it?

Sumukh Mehta
2 min readDec 10, 2017

--

12:15am. Thinking about how I really started . I thought it was going to be fun.

I had to let go of the full team and re-hire to form a new team. That’s a lot of work when you have 14 brands in hand and the next minute you realize that you are on your own. The first day it hit me hard because I had no clue how I was going to manage without a team and without them having any knowledge about the brands. I had to waste 20 days to rebuild and train the new team.

Why did I let go of my previous team?
When people think that smartness can win over hardwork, you need to let go. I care about my employees the most while keeping their interests in mind. My way of working — Take an off when we do not have work but when I need you, you might have to work on the next 2 Sundays as well.

If you’re starting up and if your employee just cares about getting the work done, then do not hire them. Because in a startup, you need to do more than that. You cannot fall sick. Even if you do, you cannot really give a fuck about that.

So here I am, thinking about every damn thing from the past one and half year- From failing as a Snapchat channel, by not taking enough vacations, by not shopping/buying anything for myself, by not getting invested by the right people, hiring and firing for 5 times.

Is this all worth it?
If you’re facing the same, then don’t give a fuck. Because it all pays off when you don’t expect anything from the world. The World will give you something in return and it might be priceless.

Don’t want to sound like a fucked up motivational speaker but yes, your parents will not know what you might be trying to do on a place like facebook and snapchat and they will never know about what the outcome is.

But the outcome is on you. It has always been!

If you found this article to be interesting, send me a 🔥smiley on Instagram | Facebook | Snapchat | Twitter

--

--