Janice Shade
Future Shade
Published in
5 min readJan 21, 2020

--

Democracy is a Team Sport: A Letter to My Daughter

Dec. 19, 2019

Dear Katie,

Last night you asked what was going on with the impeachment process. It’s been all over the news lately, and never more so than yesterday when the House of Representatives spent an entire day going through the lengthy process of voting on the rules that would guide them through the day, then discussing evidence, debating articles, and finally voting on whether to impeach or not. A quick search on my handy portable knowledge device showed that the vote had finally taken place and impeachment was the result.

I believe there was a little glimmer of hope in your eyes as you asked if this meant that Donald Trump’s famous words had finally ricocheted back on him (i.e. you’re fired). No, I responded, this is just the first step in the process. I went on to describe the next step that would involve a trial in the Senate to determine if the president is removed from office or not. I added that, with a Republican controlled Senate, odds are he will not be removed from office.

So…you asked, what does this all mean? If he’s not removed from office, what does impeachment actually do? Does impeachment have any power to stop him from doing what he’s been doing?

Good question. My response to you last night was that even if he’s not removed from office, he now knows people are watching, much more closely than ever. And impeachment could certainly have an impact on the next election. I could tell from the look in your eyes that my response was less than satisfactory, and probably left you a bit confused and doubtful. I didn’t know how to add any more at the time, but I think I do now.

As I’ve thought more and more about what all this means for our future, and the future of democracy, I recalled part of the speech I heard Nancy Pelosi give at the opening of the impeachment session yesterday morning. The entire House had just recited the Pledge of Allegiance, and she referred right back to it, invoking one particular piece of it that I believe gets to the heart of the matter. She started at the beginning: I pledge allegiance to the flag of the United States of America, and to the Republic…. Here she paused, then said again: and to the Republic, for which it stands.

This is what we’re talking about when we pledge allegiance. It’s not about the flag, which is just a symbol. It’s what that flag represents: our Republic.

A republic is a state in which supreme power is held by the people and their elected representatives, and that has an elected or nominated president rather than a monarch.

No king or emperor or other dictator tells us what to do. It’s a team effort. This grand experiment with democracy that we’ve been playing around with for nearly 250 years is the ultimate team sport. And right here, right now at the end of 2019, we’re testing the very future of the game.

Will it survive? Hard to say. We sure seem to have a ball-hog on our team who keeps the ball all to himself, only passing to his buddies, and playing by his own rules. And that’s why I believe this impeachment process — as impotent as it might feel to you right now, my young daughter — is vitally important, regardless of outcome. Whether the bully is removed from office as a result of impeachment or not, the process must be honored and upheld because those are the rules of the game. Without the rules, the game is over. The ball-hog steals the ball, makes his own rules, and does whatever he wants. And our experiment with democracy fails.

So how do we keep democracy from failing? What can we do to feel less impotent as the machinations of Congress roll on so far away, both in terms of geography and the priorities of our daily lives?

First of all, of course, we can vote. Voting is vitally important to making a democracy work but as I learned recently from one of our Vermont state representatives, voting is not enough. This state congressman told us how Howard Dean, a Vermonter who ran for President several years ago, told him that in terms of every American’s responsibility as a citizen, if you vote, you only get a C. In other words, “just voting” is barely a passing grade.

Think about that. How many Americans, including myself, are barely making the grade in our civic duties? Then think about the fact that about half of Americans don’t even vote at all. It’s no wonder our game of democracy is so easily infiltrated by bullies and ball-hogs trying to take over the game.

This cold dose of reality has me thinking about all the roles necessary for effective teamwork in this game of democracy. Those who have an aptitude and enthusiasm for public service should run for office. And for those of us who don’t… well, we have other roles to play, the most important of which is to let those we elect know what we’re thinking. And not just by voting. We’ve got to communicate more often. Write an email. Give them a call. TALK TO THEM.

Talk. Share. Discuss. Listen.

If democracy is going to work, we all have to participate in the game. So, Katie, what this means for me is, I’m going to our Town Meeting in 2020. I’m going to call our representative (after I figure out who that is) and tell them to support Paid Family Leave. I’m going to take a more active role in the game. And I’m bringing you along with me because this is the game you will inherit. In fact, you’re already in the minor league, and before you know it, you’ll be called up to the show. We’re all in this together, my love, and I’m glad you’re already curious. Let’s keep talking about it.

Love,

Mom

--

--

Janice Shade
Future Shade

Social entrepreneur, financial innovator, author. I seek the road less traveled…the seeds of innovation lie there.