12th day on the Appalachian Trail:

Warren Maddox
2 min readJan 24, 2016

--

First week, much like how my journal looks, was a wash. But in the best way possible. Everything went wrong and everything went right. From equipment failure, to human error. Seems that drama can exist anywhere. Although, it’s much easier to literally distance yourself from it.

Sitting here on top of a bald at 5216 ft watching the sunset by a fire with my newly acquired brothers from other mothers. As challenging and painful as the trail can be, there is no where I’d rather be. This is the longest sustained happiness I have ever experienced. I don’t know how long it will last but I’m not worried about that. I’m having the time of my life with these people and I’m in love with the trail more then ever.

The sky looks promising; going to cowboy camp next to the fire tonight. We are averaging about 10 miles a day thus far. Happy with the pace we have kept. Flew through eight today but we had to stop at this campsite, it was too perfect. There is even a complimentary bird choir.”

An excerpt from the trail journal I carried with me on my 6 month adventure along the Appalachian trail in 2015. I fondly look back on these memories and am glad to have taken the time to write down many of my experiences along the trail. I’ll be sharing more but this is one of my favorite days spent with some of my favorite hiker trash.

--

--

Warren Maddox

This is a collection of Misadventures of Missing Link aka MAML. You can follow me on Instagram @the_maml @cloudline @bedrocksandals And @munkpack ambassador