9 reasons why I shouldn’t try to be Buzzfeed

Jason He
6 min readJan 25, 2016

--

Two and a half weeks in, and I am very excited to have found Carrubbers Christian Centre, a great church community here in Edinburgh. I got to spend the weekend in Arbroath, a quaint small town by the beach, on a weekend away, exploring justification by faith and building community.

I’m still processing serious thoughts from the weekend’s teachings, and I am not quite sure if I will be formulating a post for what I have learned. Instead, I thought I would share some things I found fun or funny as a naive American boy in “a whole new world” (Disney crosses all borders). I hope I don’t offend any of my new friends — excuse my ignorance.

1. Pudding confusion

I tried sticky toffee pudding for the first time, and it was brilliant. Probably one of the best desserts I have had in a while. But one of the most interesting things I noticed was the terminology: when I heard “sticky toffee pudding,” I expected, well, something like this:

The hype, though, was so real, that I knew it had to be more. No one could really be that excited over pudding that was toffee-flavored, right!? And yes, indeed, I was wrong. My picture of my dessert did not do it justice, so here’s one from the internet. I apologize for failing in my foodie duties.

And yes, the hype was much deserved.

2. People acknowledge the diverse community

Aka, naive me never realized how different accents from different parts of the UK sounded (eg. Northern Ireland vs. England), and it’s great. Listening to people tease each other (jokingly, of course) about the way they pronounced things was funny, and something I really think about. Going to be honest, even though I know the different parts of the UK, I naturally lump it all together (sometimes even all of Western Europe).

3. Taylor Swift is universal

No matter who you are, how you pronounce her lyrics, or whatever, everyone knows Taylor Swift. Just like how One Direction stole the hearts of many Americans, American pop music is pretty widespread here, including everyone’s new favorite, Justin Bieber, and of course, Taylor Swift. Jamming out on the bus to some T-Swizzle was pretty awesome.

4. Country music >

I think I have already met more people here than in Texas who like country music. No joke. Every time someone I know says, “I like all kinds of music,” I think we all understand the unstated exception: country music. But no, here, I had a conversation with someone where they mentioned more American country artists than I even knew — granted, you can just pick any stereotypical American name and add the word “Band” after, but still. (I am actually a huge closet country fan so this is great, heh.)

5. Everyone loves Trump #MAKEAMERICAGREATAGAIN

HAHAHA just kidding. I will admit, people here probably know more about American politics than I do, but I am glad we can all agree that Trump is a disaster, and instead we should all be voting for Kanye.

6. Germans make fun board/card games

Apparently I was the second greatest thing created in 1997 (jk), because I was introduced to a great German card game called “Bohnanza” (German wordplay, aka bean + bonanza). It’s like a mix of Catan and Mini Wheats — strategy + fiber-filled beans. I can’t quite explain it, but basically I spent two hours last night (this morning?) trading and planting kaffebohnes (coffee beans) and sojabohnes (soy beans) and augenbohnes (black-eyed peas), in hopes of collecting the most gold coins. It was a pretty beaningful night.

7. Speaking of beans, let’s talk about farts

It appears acceptable topics of male conversation and activity are quite universal, which is great. Whoever smelt it still dealt it here, even though when they say “fah-rts,” it sounds so much more posh and less crude than when I say it, haha. I can still walk around my room in my boxers sans judgement, and sports are still a great conversation starter (I am apparently a bandwagon Leicester football fan now!!).

8. Ceilidhs are still great

I think I might have mentioned my first ceilidh (kay-lee) experience last time, but if I didn’t go into detail, essentially, it’s a huge square-dance-style group dance party. The band tells you the dance you’re doing and explains how to do it, and everyone just goes crazy. The music is lively, and everyone joins in. I think it’s impossible — within reason — to embarrass yourself at a ceilidh.

9. Rugby >

To be honest, I think I touched the ball two, maybe three, times during the entire game, but I still think rugby is great. I was told it was like American football, but the action stops a lot less (until I touched the ball and got confused and messed up, haha, oops) and it involves more people each “play.”

The defense has to stay in a line, which confused me the entire time, while the offense tends to make an arrow or v-shape (with the ball starting at the point). The ball can only be thrown backwards, and the goal is to cross a line and score a touchdown (sans ridiculous celebrations, I think). So what you have is the offense essentially taking turns charging at a line of defense, trying to spot a hole and run through, and if there isn’t an opening, tossing the ball back to the next guy in the arrow, and it’s his turn.

The first thing I was told about rugby is, “don’t drop the ball,” and I figured, “that’s pretty obvious?” It’s a lot easier said than done. Oops.

Overall, it was really refreshing weekend that I really needed. In the midst of being in a new place and trying to integrate myself into this new culture, I felt lost and isolated and hopeless, and there were moments I almost resented that God put me here. I felt so different, and I didn’t know how I could be a part of His story here. (Aka, I was afraid that I didn’t know how to make friends anymore.)

This weekend, I realize a lot of the walls I put up were artificial and prideful. Breaking down scripture in my dope small group, worshiping God together, and sharing meals and conversations, all served to break down the walls I built to hide myself and let myself be passive.

I tried not to use the word “they” in this post (only 3 times!), since I don’t want to establish an “us vs. them” type of mentality. I know I’m not there yet, but I look forward to being a part of this community, even if I only get to be here for one semester. (But apparently a PhD here is cheaper, doesn’t require the GRE, and only takes three years. My Google search history: Edinburgh uni doctorate programs, professors and advisers, and admissions processes…)

Praise the Lord for a great weekend, and I look forward to more growth and adventures in this city and beyond! I’ve booked my first trip — Venice, Florence, and Rome from February 15 to 22. As always, keep up with my day-to-day on SnapChat or Instagram (both @jjasonhe)!

--

--