Daniel Witke
2 min readJan 29, 2016

A ray of sunshine on a cloudy day (excuse the cliché title)

Today sucked, or did it?

Last week I was diagnosed with a mild case of pinkeye, but I forced myself to head to my unpaid public relations internship.

When I got to the office there was a wide variety of pickups and delivery’s that needed to be made — talk about bad timing.

On my third delivery, it took me twenty minutes to find an office building that was virtually one-block away. For my fellow New Yorkers 1261 Broadway is not next to 1260 Broadway; it is next to 1250 Broadway. Confusing right?

I was sent out of the office for the sixth time to mail books to prospective media outlets. Like a terrible movie, a series of unfortunate event transpired. I used the wrong boxes, which meant I used the wrong stamps, which led to an overly expensive mailing bill.

When the day ended I was home free, until the subway had delays. My usual 50-minute ride took twice as long.

However, in reflection, today was actually a great day.

During my delivery’s, I got to chat with two very pleasant Uber-Cab drivers. One of them was born in Guinea, Africa and spoke six languages (three dialects of African). The other one was from Crown Heights, Brooklyn who was just grateful to be employed. In two brief cab rides, I got a glimpse of what my driver’s lives were like and the struggles they are going through. Being frozen for twenty minutes was definitely a fair price for these genuine interactions.

At my adventure with the post-office, I learned a lot. I now know the right boxes to buy, the right stamps to use, and the cheapest way to send a shipment in the quickest time. A perfect example of failure acting as a catalyst for success.

Lastly, my delayed ride home allowed me to finish a chapter in my book. Even though I was sore, filled with puss, and exhausted, the good book made my lengthy train ride that much easier.

So yes, today was unsatisfying and frustrating. However, today was a good day indeed. I can’t wait to see what tomorrow will bring.