Do we ever stop dreaming?

A Case for Love
Future Travel
Published in
4 min readOct 2, 2016

--

The past few months of my life have left with me experiences that I’ve had to pinch myself and ask if this is real. This year has undoubtedly been filled with life-long memories that I’ll never forget, full of things that many people can only dream about. It’s easy to forget that when I get caught up in my own day to day life, I barely stop to smell the roses.

I’ve always had dreams about living abroad, traveling everywhere I possibly can, meeting interesting like-minding people, and eventually finding the love of my life who likes to travel as much as I do (he has to exist, right?). I hope to never stop dreaming about the things I’d like to accomplish in my life; always hoping that those dreams will become a reality.

I’m currently living in Belgrade, Serbia, but last week I took a trip to Copenhagen, Denmark. I was walking around with a friend through the Nyhavn Harbor when we passed a photo exhibit that struck a chord and gave me the chills to read.

The photos are part of a collection called Do We Ever Stop Dreaming by Kim Wrang featuring photos of nine people between the ages of 75 and 100, each with a quote of their dreams. The exhibit started with this description:

Everyone dreams about creating the good life. Dreams are linked to the future, because it is in the future that our dreams may be realized. We dream about falling in love, traveling, experiencing new things, landing a good job and being able to live in the present. We dream about meeting the one and only, having children, sex and cars. We dream about what our lives may look like in ten years and about world peace. Some dreams are realistic, others aren’t. But what happens when life is coming to an end? Do we still have dreams then?

When the body and mind decline so do the possibilities of realizing our dreams. The question is whether our dreams diminish with age. Do we still dare to dream, and if so what are those dreams? We asked some elderly people about their dreams.

As a 26-year-old, I’ve never had to think about “giving up” on my dreams. I’ve had positive influences in my life who have helped me achieve my goals and who support the decisions that I’ve made, especially the ones that have led me to this moment on my balcony in Serbia.

After about 8 months of traveling, this was the perfect reminder of just how lucky I am, and to always say yes to the amazing opportunities that I am presented with so I don’t look back at my life and wonder What if?

“We hope that it never stops.”

“I dream about keeping my eyesight, that it won’t get worse, so I can continue to drive around on my scooter. I’m not made for sitting in a chair and starring at the walls all day long.”

“I dream of living to the very end with dignity. I love my life, but I don’t want to be here if I’m not well.”

“I don’t really dream about much. I like my life as it is, and am grateful to be here. I lead an active life and hope to continue doing so.”

“I dream of being 30 years younger so I can follow my great-grandchildren and watch them grow up. They are so wonderful.”

“I dream of getting my sight back. It would give me back the opportunity to go to the theatre again and get out and walk alone in the nature.”

“I dream about being able to bid life farewell with a smile and a ‘Thank you’.”

“I dream about being healthy.”

“I wish I could take a trip to Australia. Unfortunately my health doesn’t allow it.”

Originally published at chekkmeout.com on October 2, 2016.

--

--

A Case for Love
Future Travel

Traveled the world to find a boyfriend, but now I’m empty handed with an empty wallet in NYC — www.acaseforlove.com @acaseforlove