Reshma Mawji
3 min readFeb 3, 2016

From Spark to Flame: My Encounter with Ama, A Girl who Reminded me of my 12-Year Old Self

It was another humid Saturday evening in Accra, and I was on my way, for the second time, to take part in the ‘Future of Africa’ project, a phenomenal project that empowers and supported the street children of Accra (www.futureofafrica.org)

I felt excited, a sudden fluster prodded in my tummy when I heard that the children had actually asked for me — “I really want to see them again too,” I professed, “this time I want to do more than just see them; I want to speak to them, engage with them, laugh with them, and understand them more than anything.” So I did.

It was 8.30 pm. A dark mantle had swept across the sky, studded with pulsing thousands of stars, and a low, waning crescent moon hovered tenuously in the twilight firmament, bestowing a very dim light upon parking area where we waited. The night was quiet. It felt just right being there at that moment, watching 25 children rush to T.K (the founder of FOA’s) car as he drove in. As some of us made our way to them, a bunch of them came running to say hi. “You’ve come today and you’ve brought friends!” Some of them said jubilantly. (And in case you’re wondering, yes! these street children speak English quite eloquently).

There were about 25 children and in their midst was one girl- Ama. She immediately caught my attention. So, after ‘high-fiving’ and hugging most of them (boys ages 11- 18), I sat down and asked Ama to sit by me. Ama was dressed in a skirt and top, but had no slippers on. She was a little taller I am (4 ft 11 inches) and she had a beautiful smile that spread from cheek to cheek every time I asked her to teach me Twi (which is one of the most widely spoken languages in Ghana). We spoke about her house and the fact that she had eight other siblings (most of whose whereabouts she didn’t know). Ama explained that she goes to school in Kaneishi (a different part of Accra) from Monday to Friday and then spends Saturdays and Sundays looking for money in central Accra. That night however, she did not have enough money (4 Ghana Cedis) to head back to Kaneishi and so was intending to sleep on the streets till she got some the next day.

Ama reminded me a lot of myself — she was smart, mischievous, optimistic and a strong girl. This 30-minute conversation with Ama re-kindled my eagerness to understand, mentor, support, and empower girls like her in whatever way that I can; it reminded me that, most of these children, both boys and girls, are blessed with intelligence, energy, creativity, and strength that can move the world, if only they had the opportunities to do so. Ama told me that she was in fact, the best English student in her class (and I believed her immediately because of how expressively and fluently she spoke to me).

I am blessed to get to know these children, and being part of the amazing FOA team; I look forward to turning these initial encounters to stronger friendships that will turn from mere flames of encouragement to mighty blazes of hope.

Reshma Mawji

Pan-African at heart, with a knack for writing about different worlds, subcultures and niches (esp in East and West Africa) & easily distracted by good coffee!