Rubecca Wong
2 min readJan 12, 2016

It’s a small Chinese restaurant. The moment I stepped in to the place, the delicious smell of the food attracts me and made me even hungrier. The 1970s style interior design with 3 side of glass window and around 12 wood tables in it. You can see some traditional Chinese posters, decorations, and paintings on the wall. I noticed there’re many plants in the room, Chinese people believe that plants can bring the restaurant good luck and fortune. The carpet was blue, navy blue.

It was a Friday evening when I got here and nearly dinner time. It supposed to be busy and loud, but not a lot of people came in and eat. But the phone never stop ringing. One call after another, the waitress were running back and forth from the kitchen to the front desk.

There were two young boys sitting at the table right in front of me. One of them had his headphone on and the other was playing with his iPad. They were around primary school age like. But I couldn’t tell which one was the older, which one was the younger. They were around the same height. And one of the older-looking waitress came out with two cups of ice water, short velvet black hair around 5 foot 2. She smiled and talked to the boys in Cantonese. I could not fully understood their conversation but partly it sound like mandarine to me.

A guy sat at the left hand corner of the restaurant, reading with a book. He seemed tired, maybe he just got off from work. The waitress came, seemed like they know each other. They were chatting.

“Hey, How’s going? Haven’t seen you for a long time!”

“Ya, I know,right? I usually come here in the afternoon more, since my work place started to let me work in the evenings.”

“So what are you gonna have tonight? As usual?”

“Yes, as usual. My favourit seafood fried rice.”

I didn’t pay much attention on the conversations, and the waitress walked in to the kitchen after she got the order.

Then the waitress came out of the kitchen, and talked to me for order.

“Hi! Are you reading for order?”

“Not sure, what would you recommend if I don’t like something too sweet?”

“Would you like to try beef Hefen? It’s a hongkongese dish, thick rice noodle stir fried with bean sprout and beef. It’s really good.”

“Yea, it sounds great I would like to try that.”

“Thank you! I will be right back with the food.”

She walked to the kitchen again. She walked really fast, I would need to run in small steps to catch up with her if I was walking with her. It seemed like she is still in college. I wonder where she goes for college.

She brought the dish minutes after I’d ordered .

“Thanks for waiting! Beef Hefen, enjoy!”