Life In Manchester U.K. For A First Time Visitor.

Famous Steve
Future Travel
Published in
5 min readJan 1, 2017

At first glance I did not like Manchester. It reminded me of Portland.

People peeing in the streets. Poop on sidewalk. Beggars asking for change. Hipsters and smokers everywhere. The dirty street and dark alleys look like where people get mugged in movies. Yes, at first glance I did not like Manchester.

I stayed at the Hatters Hilton Hostel. Northern Quarter. I do not recommend this hostel in terms of cleanliness and perception of safety. The rooms do not seem to have ventilation, imagine 10 people breathing the same recycled air. But again you can’t ask for 5 star treatment paying 23 pounds per night.

The room stink, my bed cover had hair all over, going to bed fully clothed. Guests in other rooms can be as loud as they want overwhelming everyone in the hall way. Hatters do have free breakfast, 24hr reception and slow free internet.

Hatters do have it’s advantages. There are at least 5 places you can get alcohol in less than 500 feet. The famous places yelp and google map suggest for a good time is just a few steps away from the hostel. No need for Uber.

A movie theatre called Odeon, which is really nice, is about 7minutes walk from the hostel. The inter state bus from London — megabus (18 pounds, one way) and the inner city bus stop is less than half a mile away. Hatters has a lot going for it in terms of accessibility. Not all downers.

In Manchester, these honies come out to be seen. There are so many beautiful women in Manchester and the competition between them is very real. The women stay very classy and very drunk. Many will start random conversations with you, subtly letting you know they fancy you. “You look familiar…”

A lot of making out on the streets of Manchester.

I went out on a Monday night and it was more jumping than some places I’ve been on a Friday night. Almost seemed like Miami crowd.
Manchester night life is freaking awesome.

I started off the night at Cane and Grain. Pretty packed with people.
No cover. The beer is usually 5 pounds but while I was there it was half off. After one beer, I left for Birdcage which cost 13 pounds to get in and closes at 4AM. A double shot, redbull and beer was 10pounds. Birdcage was opposite another club with a queue called Tiger Tiger, which I heard has a cover charge of 10 pounds.

Some chic also recommended I check out Deansgate locks — ARK, that she likes it a lot. Be prepared, you might spend close to 60 pounds one night.
I spent 28 pounds for cover, double shot, red bull and three beers. I didn’t stay out long.

In Manchester clubs, common for the girls to bump into you with their titties, they dance behind, beside or infront of you, again everyone getting along, having a good time. Common also for guys to tap the booty and look away leaving the girl guessing who the culprit is. Fun, laid back atmosphere.

Manchester girls are slim for the most part but a good number of them also have some thickness in the right places. Busty or child bearing hips.

If you are passing through the UK, definitely check out Manchester for the night life and women.

I did not get mugged. I did not see any obvious drug activity but I can bet my right shoe that there’s a heavy drug scene here. I did notice many alleys had a guy and a chic, try not to stare.

As to livability, I would not live here but if I lived in London I won’t mind a friend with benefit in Manchester. If I absolutely have to rate Manchester in terms of livability, I would live here for one month.

Manchester has a young crowd, I would recommend you stay about 5 days. The people consistently go out. And if you happen to be on a date while here, take her to the Piccadilly bridge.

I would say the possibility to get laid here is pretty high, much easier if you have a wingman, as the chics travel mostly in twos. Also the women prefer you live here rather than “passing through in a couple of days”.

A wingman, minimum of 5days and the perception of “you’re making arrangements to move there” should be all you need. The women are very easy to approach and due to the availability of many beautiful women,
many of them are very welcoming.

It is important to note that Manchester women have a lot more “emo feel”, punk, more “rude girl” feel, they dress more skimpy and freely at night.
During the day, Manchester is by far one of the best dressed places I’ve been to, so bring business casual attire. The people dress even better than Londoners, in my opinion. It almost seem like they just took the tag off their brand new jacket every time you walk around the city.

That said, solo travelers can very easily make “buddies for the night”
here compared to London. The two places I went in Manchester, I met some good fellas to chat up for a bit.

Though I did not necessary like Manchester itself because of how unkept the area I went was, the women and night life could make me come back.

With Love,

Famous Steve.

--

--