Komal Mehta
Future Travel
Published in
2 min readJul 12, 2016

--

Places Not To Go For Solo Female Travelers, In India

Lets get to the point right away.

These are the places where a solo girl traveler should never visit in India:

  1. ………………….
  2. ………………….
  3. ………………….
  4. …………………
  5. …………………

Well I hope you got my point. There is no such place in India where a girl cannot travel alone. Be it East, West, North or South its safe everywhere. I am not blabbering just for the sake of it, been there done that…!! And do not mistake me for a physically strong type who can scare off people. I am just 5.1 feet tall with a friendly face and very careless by nature, as in I cannot stay awake during the journey to check on my luggage, at times i forget to charge my mobile phone and I keep stumbling every now and then, you know, just to test gravity.

I have traveled alone for both work and leisure in big cities like Mumbai, Delhi, Bangalore, Kolkata, Chandigarh, Ahmadabad; to small towns like Coimbatore, Aurangabad, Pune, Amritsar, Jalandhar, Vadodara; to tourist places like Goa, Kasol, Ooty, Mcleodganj, Dheradun, Gaya, Darjeeling; to not so famous places like Rewari, Panipath, Mandarmani, Jawhar, Sangola, Pandharpur, Vapi, Junagadh; to name a few. And believe you me, in all this traveling I have never faced any problems such as eve teasing, molestation, theft, or any other kind of issues. No, I wasn’t always traveling by air or putting up in 5 star hotels, in fact just the opposite. I traveled by Trains, Buses and hired vehicles; commuted withing the cities by local transport, lived in mostly economy hotels (well, not cheap ones) also once went trekking in Himalayas alone and shared tents with strangers.

And during all this traveling, commuting and exploring the only kind of people I came across were kind, polite, helpful and very hospitable. I have seen people going out of their way to help me, may be by offering their car + driver from Mandi Gobind Ghar to Chandigarh or by giving a lift from Rewari to Delhi or feeding me homemade food coz I had a delicate stomach or getting me famous desserts of the town as I have a sweettooth or arranging transport facility from Panipath to some remote location in Haryana and checking on me throughout the way. There are numerous such kind gestures that I have received from strangers whom I met while traveling alone, let aside when you have an acquaintance or friend in town.

P.S.: I hope you find this interesting and it encourages you to pack your bag and get going. Let me know what you think or if you have any questions.

--

--