The World is Our Skatepark.

What is your favourite go-to place?

SkateLibrary
2 min readJan 15, 2016

Have you ever had that moment when you visited somewhere new and thought, WOW? Where you didn’t think such a place existed yet you were lucky enough to be there!

The world is filled with amazing places to travel to, all of which have their very own unique touch. The one fascinating thing we’ve come to realise is that skaters quickly make each place their own no matter how different it may be. Basically, if you can touch it, you can skate all over it!

Whether you possess Tony Hawk like skills or just prefer a cruise like I usually do, there is an endless supply of skating adventures out there, and with our skateboard and our imagination, we make something out of what seems like nothing to most people.

Looking back to my favourite go-to place, it has to be New York City! Yes, one of the busiest places on earth, I found to be the greatest place to skate. Like I said, all you need is a skateboard and a little imagination.

After a little adventure and a Starbucks coffee (there’s no New York without coffee) I happened to experience my WOW moment. Roosevelt Island! Not only is Roosevelt Island my favourite place in New York because of the great views and it’s weirdly amazing vibe but the fact is, it’s a skater's paradise. Seriously!

After a couple of hours skating around, taking many pictures and basically just taking in the moment, as much as we didn't want to leave, we then took off to explore more of the city. To be honest, 1 week in New York is not enough time at all, more astonishingly even after living over there for 5 months previously, I still don't believe I've seen it all.

Whether it be skating down Broadway, through Central Park or even walking(skating) a friends dog in Queens, there is so much to see and do that it kind of overwhelms me with happiness.(tip: just don't stop for the guys giving away their mix-tape, story for another time)

shoutout to Zeus for taking me for a walk.

After our experience in New York, I certainly can not wait for the next adventure. And no doubt will my skateboard be coming too.

Share with us your favourite adventure on Twitter @SkateLibrary, we’d be intrigued to know all about it. The world is our skatepark so make the most of it.

--

--

SkateLibrary

A skate-lifestyle blog. Why skating is for everyone! Check us out on twitter @SkateLibrary By @jamie_squires & @mattyyyevans, founders of Hashtag Skateboards.