Travel Tips for Europe

Jerrenn Lam
Future Travel
Published in
4 min readFeb 22, 2016

I had the pleasure recently of travelling to Europe, for the very first time. I’m one of those travellers who prepare for many, many scenarios, and it is with this mindset that I packed my two suitcases (yes, two!) with me. Some turned out more helpful than I thought, and some less.

Over the next few weeks, I saw parts of Europe and was completed awed by it, but at the same time being thankful that I was (mostly) prepared for different eventualities. But here are the biggest takeaways I got.

Travel guides, essential in travel planning. Source: VanessaC, Flickr

Multi-plug adaptors

We travel in an age of gadgets of technology. If you’re still one of those people who insist on using minimal technology, that’s fine, but I certainly cannot live without having all my equipment — phone, selfie stick, power bank, laptop charging cables, etc.

Instead of utilising different power points and adaptors (if you need it, that is), it is much easier to simply use one multi-plug board. This way, you can charge multiple devices at once to avoid hogging plug points. And, you can charge all your devices together. This is especially helpful if you’re living in a hostel, however I did find it useful just to have one spot to charge all my devices.

This would be especially useful in a communal area like a backpacker’s, where you can utilise one plug but charge your laptop, smartphone, tablet, camera, and maybe power pack too.

Travel tech — a wonder. Source: Kārlis Dambrāns, Flickr

App, app, app!

The smartphone has absolutely revolutionised how I travel. In the past, we would have to prepare lots of research beforehand, in notebooks, printouts and travel guides. Cameras were the go-to, and you wouldn’t even think about purchasing something like a SIM card. Now, however, a SIM card and data plan (or WiFi) is crucial wherever I go.

Among the top apps that have been useful: Google Translate, Google Maps, Citymapper, Uber, Airbnb, and TripAdvisor. These apps have been extremely helpful throughout my travels. Google Maps and Citymapper were helpful in getting to places (Citymapper is awesome at reaching popular tourist destinations), Uber, Airbnb and TripAdvisor for obvious reasons, and Google Translate… just makes everything easier. The app lets me translate menus, phrases and texts which made it easier to understand the local language and signs whenever I was lost.

My advice is to find a great data plan, one that has minimal credit but loads of data, and to of course have these apps downloaded beforehand. Technology is a wonderful thing, and I must say, I only got lost a handful of times because it was so easy to get around.

Travel card

I only found out about this shortly before leaving, but it turned out to be an amazing discovery. Rather than carrying wads of cash, or rely on credit cards (and having to waste money on surcharges), I obtained a travel card from my bank. This allows me to convert my money into several different currencies at one go, and store it in one card. Use of the card then does not run into any surcharges. You still run into ATM withdrawal fees in most places, but using it as a credit card is fine.

This has helped me save a lot of money, and was so convenient. It’s also secure- it is not accessed through your normal Internet banking, and therefore you don’t have to worry about someone gaining access to your everyday banking accounts. You’re also given a backup card in case you lose your primary card (using the backup card automatically deactivates the primary one). Cash is of course, still needed for small transactions, but it is a lot safer to have a small amount of cash with the rest stored safely in a card.

Travel money. Source: Global Panorama, Flickr.

These are by no means, exhaustive, and might not appeal to some, as I’m sure some people would much rather explore and get lost. But if that’s not your thing, then these tips should hopefully help. Enjoy!

--

--

Jerrenn Lam
Future Travel

Business analyst & digital marketer. Curious about tech, business, and digital. http://about.me/jerrennlam