When I Say ‘Strong Woman’ in Istanbul

Deborah Kristina
Future Travel
Published in
1 min readAug 11, 2017

This has been said a lot, I’m sure, but I would like to say that the word ‘strong’ isn’t only synonymous to men; it’s also synonymous to women as so many women in the world are responsible for childcare, household chores and working part- or full-time. I don’t think a lot of people consider how a lot of women in the world drag their bodies out of bed every day to get things done. Even when they are fatigued, they still keep going and I think it’s about time that they were more highly valued for what they do. A lot of women work very hard and they aren’t appreciated enough.

I say the words ‘strong woman’ sometimes and the image that some people get is of a ‘feminazi’. Why?

A lot of people need to think about the effort and energy that so many women put into doing what they do each day. People don’t reflect on what they do enough.

I would like to express that people need to reflect more but that there’s no need to compare and contrast men and women either. Just pay more attention to what women do and feel the work that they do.

--

--

Deborah Kristina
Future Travel

Author of ‘A Girl All Alone Somewhere in the World’, ‘Confessions and Thoughts of a Girl in Turkey’, ‘From Just a Girl Grown Up in America’. (Amazon.com)