World’s End

Rob Ward
Future Travel
Published in
4 min readJan 16, 2017

Over the course of the last four-ish years, beach sunrises have become a common practice in my life. Sometimes it’s in the form of an early morning run that ends at Johnny Mercer’s Pier. Other times, a beach sunrise was the perfect mental palate-cleanser to a late night studying in the library. More recently, my final Wilmington-to-Massachusetts road trip began with a teary-eyed beach sunrise.

These beach sunrises are great reminders that no matter what happened the day before, we are given a new day with its own beautiful beginning every twenty-four hours. I like to think of beach sunrises as the bookends of our days, a sort of real-life refresh button.

Since moving back to suburban Boston, I have seen far fewer beach sunrises. Last Tuesday, I woke up to an incredible sunrise in my own neighborhood. The scene from my bed reminded me of all my Wrightsville sunrises, and I thought, this would be so much better at the beach. That morning, I decided that an early-morning weekend drive to the ocean was in order.

Views that would be much better at the beach

The days that followed were long and really wore me out. By the time Friday night rolled around, I made absolutely no plans other than a date with my bed at 9:30 sharp. Before bed, I looked up the time the sun would rise in the morning. It would come up at 7:11. Knowing my body really needed sleep, I decided that I’d go to bed without setting an alarm, and if I woke up in time, I’d drive to World’s End in Hingham for the sunrise, about a 50 minute drive.

Nine hours later, I wake up at 6:22 — almost exactly 50 minutes before sunrise. I run around my house gathering everything I’d need — hat, gloves, scarf, boots, four layers of clothing — my suit of armor against the bitter New England winter. I hop in the car, put on my Spotify playlist, and drive off into the still, black morning.

The next twenty-to-thirty minutes are spent navigating the dark, empty highways of Southeastern Massachusetts. I get off the highway somewhere in the Quincy/Braintree area, as the rest of my trek will be on back roads. As I get closer to the coast, the sky brightens. I quickly realize that I will be viewing this sunrise from my car, which is still better than missing it completely. By the time I make my way down winding Martin’s Lane the sun has fully risen, but the view was just as beautiful.

Biting air greets my face as I get out of the car. It’s a lot colder on the water than it was when I left my house, and the cold air infiltrates my trusty suit of armor. After about 15 minutes walking up the wooded trail, I decide it’s best to head back to the car.

I drive into Hingham Center and discover a cool coffee shop called Brewed Awakening. I order a latte, and with this cup of warm rejuvenation, decide to check out a few beaches in nearby Cohasset.

I drive up Jerusalem Road, passing some of the nicest houses I’ve ever seen, and wondering about the people who used to live in them. Between the houses, I catch the occasional glimpse of the ocean

The bluriness is my favorite thing about this photo

I find a small pulloff to park the car and get out and walk along the beach. The hot coffee numbs the sting of the winter air. After walking around for a bit, I return to the car and begin driving home. The sun is shining, the sky is bright blue, and 95.5 is on a roll with upbeat tunes.

I’m home by 9:30am already feeling like I’ve experienced an entire day. Although Boston’s south shore has a different vibe to it than my beloved Wrightsville Beach, it is still a beautiful place to explore, reflect, and enjoy.

Out of all the habits I could have picked up in college, I’m glad that making beach sunrises a priority is one that stuck with me. Life can feel so routine and so mundane at times, that it’s important to remember that there is a beach sunrise every morning. I plan to make more trips to World’s End and Jerusalem Road to catch as many of those sunrises as I can.

--

--

Rob Ward
Future Travel

24, uncw alum, runner, optimist, adventure seeker.