Inventagious
Future Vision
Published in
2 min readJun 4, 2019

--

I stand by Apple…but I won’t stand for this

Apple has long been an industry leader in technology. With WWDC 2019 they proved that they are still software heavyweights. They also proved they still don’t get it.

Apple had a lot of incredible software and hardware announcements but when it came to this piece of computer hardware it stole the show. With a loud gasp Apple announced quickly that it is selling you a monitor stand for $1000! That’s right when you buy a $5000 monitor you still have to pay $1000 for a monitor stand 👏

I am a huge fan of Apple but this is pure insanity and foolishness. Apple was the first company to sell a smartphone for $1000. Now they have become the first company to sell a monitor stand for $1000. This is the most ridiculous nonsense I have ever heard from a company. Apple has proven today that their bottom line outweighs their technical aspirations.

Tim Cook should be ashamed of himself for this and will lose many customers with this foolish and irrational move. I will never buy this. The monitor is overpriced and the stand is a joke. Apple has lost their damn minds.

But sometimes when you sleep up in the iClouds it’s easy to forget what the ground looks like. Apple has traded their customer loyalty for shareholder royalty.

I still have hope that someone with some cents (pun intended) will come in and run the company. Tim has cooked Apple’s prices to the point of no return for many Apple customers. I have the current iPhone and feel pretty silly seeing someone with a $400 Google Pixel 3a that can take higher quality pictures than my $1200 iPhone but that’s a story for a different day.

Thanks Apple for royally screwing your customers again. It’s time to change the logo to one with several bites out of it to reflect what you’ve done to the wallets and hearts of your loyal customer base. Now I’m just waiting for Google to come out with a commercial that says, “Hi I’m a $300 Chromebook and I’m a $5000 iMac” and the rest will be history.

--

--