One F*cking like!

Karol Riebandt
Future Vision
Published in
2 min readApr 18, 2019
Pixelbay

As I remember it happened in 2012. I was sitting with my friend, second friend and his girlfriend. I heard them talking about some hastags and what to write under their new Instagram photos.

Give me that fcking like!

He was constantly asking me to give heart under his photo and I only replied one word. Yep, you guessed. It was “No”. Not because I wanted to be a bad friend, but I had something other on my mind. And there is no way or reason to deny it.

For over two decades We have allowed technology to make our life easier, but We have also helped our phones or other smart devices be more intelligent than some of people today.

Easier = Dumber

Nowadays exists term which is called “digital dementia”. To put it simply: Its a state where We outsource simple tasks to our smart devices. That makes our brain mental muscles grow weaker.

Sadly, We have predicted it using movies!

To this day I remember one of my english teachers. His name was Chis and he showed us a movie which was comedy mixed with science — fiction. Mike Judge’s “Idiocracy” showed that due to technology and heavy usage of it makes us dumber.

Movies, more movies

The other thing that comes to my mind which shows negative effect of technology is movie for kids “Wall-e”, where people were people are shown as fat, barely moving creatures who sacrificed anything for comfortable chairs and more screens. If We are not going to do something about it, We are going to end up in one of those scenarios or something much worse.

Can We stop it?

Yeah, but most people in society might not want to do that. Today if We are not glued to screens of our phones or exist on social media makes us look like We are someone odd.

Online life is nothing!

The reason I wrote that “article” is that I want to remind you that your real life is running away from you. Likes or hearts don’t create your memories or true value in real life.

What you are going to do?

Hope that my works will wake you up and you will see that We can’t allow social media and technology consume us and our limited time.

--

--