One Way Ticket From Intern to Full-Time: My Top 3 Takeaways from ISC West

Fiona Whittington
Future Vision
Published in
3 min readApr 18, 2019

Edited by Kendra Levy

This past week I had the pleasure of attending International Security Conference & Exposition (ISC) West, the largest converged security trade show in the U.S. hosted annually in Las Vegas, Nevada. Additionally, I had the honor of traveling with the Armored Things team to Portland, Oregon to participate in several sales meetings.

I’m not sure which was more valuable, the trip itself, or the empowering conversations I had with my team to get myself there. For when I expressed interest in attending ISC West, I meant the event held next year, not the one being held three days later.

I never would have skipped a week of school to invest in my professional growth without the encouragement of my team. There are opportunities that you see for yourself and opportunities that others see for you, both have been equally critical to my success.

ISC West was ripe with learning opportunities both from an industry and professional development perspective. Below are my top three takeaways.

1. Cyber-physical security is the new buzzword on the block, but nobody knows what it means yet.

Maybe it’s because I’m a newbie around here, but the definition of cyber-physical security systems remains dubious to me. It is clear that the security of Internet of Things (IoT) devices lies at the heart of the concept, but how cyber and physical security converge with one another appears to get mixed up in the marketing jargon.

2. For aspiring marketing professionals — come prepared with comfortable clothing and questions.

My new packing rule for business trips: If I can’t aggressively dance to Beyonce in it, then I leave it at home. In addition to packing Beyonce ready clothing, I also come prepared with questions I can ask people. Whether I’m doing an interview or not, it’s helpful to have a talking guide in both casual or professional meetings. As my best friend and trusty editor, Kendra Levy reminds me, “when you’re on your feet all day and put into other uncomfortable situations, comfort in clothing is key.”

3. Advanced video analytics software is at the forefront of everyone’s minds, but it’s not the future.

It is not news that the security industry is experiencing a digital transformation. Due to the advancement of technology and the rise of soft attacks, the market for security technology and devices continues to increase significantly. One type of product that has emerged out of this upward trend is advanced video analytics software, many of which include facial or license plate recognition capabilities. It’s exciting to bear witness to the success of technologies like video analytics software, but even more enthralling to be part of a team developing the technology of what will come next. For a sneak peek into the future of security technology, check out the Armored Things website.

Moving forward, I’m excited to continue sharing my journey from intern to full-time with everyone, and, of course, provide more rants about the lack of diversity in security technology. If you’re interested in an internship at Armored Things, be sure to check out our website.

See you all soon in the real world!

--

--

Fiona Whittington
Future Vision

A marketer with a passion for startups, technology, and education.