Are you lovin’ it?!

--

A story by: Isabel van Zoelen, Jesse Siersma & Julia van de Nieuwenhuizen

What is it?

Fast food and luxury fashion, you might think this is an unordinary combination. But you might be wrong… Luxury brands have found a new partner to collaborate with!
After years of brands collaborating with other brands or artists, now it’s McDonald’s turn.

Well known designer Alexander Wang, has teamed up with McDonalds on two different bags combining their style with his well-known usage of black, both being sold in McDonald’s online flagship store. Next to these bags, McDonalds is running a special Black x gold menu in China. And to top it all off a catchy slogan was written: “I’m wanging it”.

Will this collaboration be seen as the official start of fashion x food collaborations?

The lunch bag (pictured on the left) made from Tyvek paper featuring McDonalds and Alexander Wang logos will be sold for $14.00, while the picnic basket (pictured on the right) is lined with sheepskin, and leather detailing, and finished off with a silver letter A would cost you around $835,00. You can say there is something in it for everybody.

Why it’s Cool?

It’s very cool because designers like Wang use the food culture as inspiration. McDonalds is very popular in the fast-food industry, therefore this collection is like having a high-end happy meal. The designer takeaway bag is the same price as 3,5 Big Macs! I know what I would choose. 😉

Making such a simple thing so fancy, is like having the best of both worlds. As a foodie you definitely want this bag in your collection, to flex your Macs.
The combination of the handbags and McDonald, will feed the hunger of millennials on the hunt for the new thing. We WANGin it for sure.

Why it has future growth potential?

Collaborations can be seen all over the world, think of two fashion designers or an artist with a shoe brand, but not usually with food. It’s a very new trend for the food business, if not the newest. People want luxury, but they do not always want to pay for it. With this trend everything is possible. It’s great for the businesses to work together on a new product/concept, but it’s also great for the customer. They can get a lot for less money. Besides, it’s great to see something so normal, turn into something very new and exciting. The combinations of collabs in the future are incredibly huge!

References

CHOU, C. (2020, january 13). MCDONALD’S, ALEXANDER WANG MERGE FOOD AND FASHION. Opgeroepen op September 2020, van Alizila: https://www.alizila.com/mcdonalds-alexander-wang-bag-collection/

McDonald’s & Alexander Wang Join Forces for Fast Food-Inspired Accessories. (2019, December 7). Opgeroepen op September 2020, van hypebeast: https://hypebeast.com/2019/12/mcdonalds-alexander-wang-fast-food-inspired-accessories

MCDONALD’S, ALEXANDER WANG MERGE FOOD AND FASHION (2020, January 13). Opgeroepen op September 2020, van
https://www.alizila.com/mcdonalds-alexander-wang-bag-collection/

This is a story of the Futurist Club

By Science of the Time

Written by: Isabel van Zoelen, Jesse Siersma, Julia van de Nieuwenhuizen

Isabel van Zoelen
My name is Isabel van Zoelen, I am 23 years old and I am living in the Netherlands. I study ‘Food Innovation’, with the specialization ‘Food Design’, at the HAS university of applied sciences in ‘s-Hertogenbosch. In Summary, this study includes developing innovative food concepts and/or products, being creative with and gaining knowledge about food and food technologies.

I am passionate about everything that concerns food and thereby I am very creative in developing new concepts and coming up with new ideas in relation to food and the world around it. I can spend hours brainstorming. I love to try new things and discover new places as well. I am very active and always trying to develop myself in multiple ways.

Jesse Siersma
My name is Jesse Siersma, I’m 23 years old and I’m a recent graduate in Food Innovation with main interests in design, sustainability and taste. I enjoy both bringing new experiences, solving problems and making people happy with food. With a dream to set up a sustainable winery.

Julia van de Nieuwenhuizen
Hi! I’m Julia, 24 years old and I’m studying Food and Innovation Marketing & Business at the HAS university of applied science in Den Bosch, the Netherlands. I like to do research in consumer behaviour and create a business plan. I also like to write and cook and try new stuff. In my free time I play field hockey and go to the gym to clear my mind and have fun with my friends.

In collaboration with

Science of the Time

Are you as an educational knowledge institute (university, polytechnic or otherwise) interested in getting involved in the International Cool City Hunt please click here.

--

--