FWD Feature | Dana Shaw-Arimoto

FWD Collective
FWD Collective
Published in
2 min readFeb 14, 2018

Dana Shaw-Arimoto | Executive Team Leadership Coach | Phoenix⁵

What does diversity, equity, and professional inclusion mean to you?

Regardless of gender, ethnicity, etc. people are working together collaboratively in roles they love in companies that embrace.

How have you experienced and/or dealt with adversity in your professional and personal life?

Overlooked for promotions because of gender and not participating in normalized workplace sexual conduct. Personally, grew up with a bipolar mother and a blind sister.

Truly, I don’t subscribe to the issue of adversity, not that there aren’t difficult situations that everyone goes through if I was “targeted,” I don’t dwell on it. I take action. I use the talents I have to get out and create opportunities for myself.

What would be one piece of advice you would give to your younger self?

You will turn out better than you expected and stronger than you ever gave yourself credit for. And you will make an impact in others lives.

Name three things that you do everyday to help lead you to success.

  1. Practice what I preach.
  2. Every morning, I use the Coco Chanel “Clear Two Things off of my Schedule every day” method.
  3. I spend enjoyable time with my family.

Who inspires your professional ambition? Why?

Arianna Huffington

Not for the obvious reasons. Mostly because of something I heard her say at SXSW. She said, “Life is 50% about making it happen and 50% about letting it happen.”

I am currently striving for that juxtaposition.

What is your favorite book? Or the one you’d recommend most?

“Radical Candor” by Kim Scott

Connect with Dana: LinkedIn | Twitter | Instagram

Connect with Phoenix⁵: Website | LinkedIn | Facebook | YouTube

--

--

FWD Collective
FWD Collective

(For Women & Diversity) Collective hosting summits focused on professional #inclusion 🙌🙌🏾🙌🏼🙌🏿🙌🏻