280 characters

Twitter increased their character to limit from 280 character.. interesting!

Sam
FWRD
Published in
1 min readSep 28, 2017

--

Probably the biggest change (albeit that they’re only testing) to the platform since the ability to thread tweets.

Jack Dorsey announced:

The reaction has been interesting, as you can imagine. Those for and those against:

Twitter have been calling for an edit button for years (as I have), you know all those typo’s that we noticed after 2 minutes later but that’s a conversation for another day.

I had the opportunity to try it out thanks to a Product Hunt chrome extension. I actually found it difficult to reach 280 characters, it was only in cases where I would naturally do a thread I fitted it all in a tweet.

Example B:

I like it, I don’t believe it will ruin twitter like many people think it will. I don’t believe people will abuse it and won’t tweet as concise as they do already. Back to the reaction though, you don’t often see such investment from the users in a product. It’s as if the users own it, something Jack Dorsey should be proud of.

These are my thoughts on it anyway. Thank you for reading ✌🏽

--

--