Looking for a mentor

I’ve been looking for a mentor, unfortunately, I haven’t found one. Any ideas?

Sam
FWRD
2 min readMay 10, 2017

--

I have been wanting a mentor for awhile now, more than a year, unfortunately I haven’t found one yet. My means to getting one, haven’t been so traditional; going to events, meeting “potential mentors”, being overtly interested in their practices but nothing happening beyond that event. Shooting emails, expressing a huge interest in their subjects and no responses.

Very frustrating considering I thought those in business for awhile, would want to have conversations, talk to someone who is eager about the information they have.

Why do you want to have a mentor?

I feel I need some guidance, especially with where I want to go. Someone, some people who understand’s the places I am aiming for, who embodies the characteristics I want future myself to have. I’m very much obsessed with 3 things; entrepreneurship, design, tech, culture and media. These 3 things alone are very big pools and I’m somewhat lost even though I do have FWRD.

I need a mentor, like Neo had Morpheus, like Luke had Yoda. Excuse the hyperbole but this is how I picture it. I want a mentor who believes in me, more than I believe in myself, who sees something large in myself that I don’t see. I didn’t think it would be that difficult to find a mentor, I just want help. I want to be in these spaces of forward thinkers, people who want to create a better future, I just need help getting there. Not many people are open to say that I am.

I’m going to keep looking, I’m sure they’re out there somewhere. If you have any suggestions, please respond below. I’m open to all ideas.

Email: Samuel.gordon.m@gmail.com

--

--