Masafumi Watanabe: Creative Inspiration, Street Culture and the Chinese Market | F(x)Lab Talks

F(x)Lab
F(x)Lab
Published in
5 min readAug 11, 2020

渡辺 真史

Masafumi Watanabe

BEDWIN & THE HEARTBREAKERS DIRECTOR

DAYZ DIRECTOR

Lived in England after a modeling career. Started brand “BEDWIN” in 2004. Renamed to “BEDWIN & THE HEARTBREAKERS” in 2007. Whilst brand directing the above, also a brand representative of “DLX”. Masafumi travels the world, finding and collaborating with craftsmen who take high pride in their work, sourcing the materials he meets in those various places; and creating the uniquely charismatic product, which can be truly said to be “one of a kind.”

TIMELESS COLLECTION © BEDWIN & THE HEARTBREAKERS

F(x)Lab: Life often brings people many new inspirations and ideas. What discoveries and observations have you found in your life recently?

Masafumi Watanabe: In terms of the creative side, I’ve been digging in my experience past life. Such as what I was like, what I was into pertaining to music, fashion, art, and photography. It was fun to time travel in my mind. And it also made me think about what kind of future is waiting for us.

I keep digging the culture I am in and tell these stories to the younger generation. That’s what I’m doing. New inspiration and ideas are mostly a blur for me. I just feel it and express it through my work.

20SS HOLIDAY COLLECTION © BEDWIN & THE HEARTBREAKERS

F(x)Lab: What do you think the difference between today’s young people’s attitudes towards fashion and street culture and those of the 1980s and 1990s?

Masafumi Watanabe: It’s kind of like hip hop culture. Back in the day, I could hear many great voices and messages from them, but now I mostly hear “business” oriented. The quality is much better, but I hardly hear their real voice. Please don’t get me wrong. I still enjoy seeing young people’s attitudes with technology towards fashion and street culture today as long as it’s real.

GREAR PATTERSON MEETS BEDWIN & THE HEARTBREAKERS © BEDWIN & THE HEARTBREAKERS

F(x)Lab: The simpler the style is, the more exquisite it is, and the more perfection is needed in design, collocation and workmanship. How can BEDWIN & THE HEARTBREAKERS be unique? What do you want people to feel when they put on BEDWIN’s products?

Masafumi Watanabe: I have no idea. I’m not trying to be unique. I’m just trying to dig and express myself as a person who was raised in the street culture. I’m not trying to be someone else or think that I’m better than anyone else. I’m just trying to improve myself and doing this for people who love this culture.

I would like people to feel comfortable and a little excited about being themselves.

2020 SPRING / SUMMER COLLECTION © BEDWIN & THE HEARTBREAKERS

F(x)Lab: Many products of BEDWIN & THE HEARTBREAKERS are relevant to a song/album/band. What is the theme of the Spring/Summer 2020 collection? Why this concept? What do you want to convey to the public this season?

Masafumi Watanabe: Spring/Summer 2020 we have a 90’s vibe. I got inspired by this music, such as the 90’s grunge bands (Pearl Jam, Soundgarden, Alice in Chains, N.W.A, etc. west coast music in general).

The 90’s Bands: Pearl Jam, Soundgarden, Alice in Chains, N.W.A

F(x)Lab: From the inspiration to the birth of the series, what difficulties have you encountered? How do you solve it?

Masafumi Watanabe: There are no difficulties. I always found a chance to get inspired by daily life and dig it. There are a ton of inspirations in the street and also a digital world.

DOE × BEDWIN & THE HEARTBREAKERS FROM DOE “LONG MARCH” PARIS POP-UP © DOE

F(x)Lab: The observation from the details of life and constant travel experience make BEDWIN & THE HEARTBREAKERS products have surprises and breakthroughs every time. Chinese culture is very diverse and fascinating. Are you planning to come to China to explore more inspiration and cooperation? Have you already interested in something about Chinese culture?

Masafumi Watanabe: I’m interested in China especially because it is based on a long history and rich culture. Now the culture has been growing along with the economic growth driven by the youth of China.

Chinese culture interested me in food, martial arts, art, and street fashion. I’m planning to go back to Shanghai as soon as COVID-19 settles down.

BEDWIN & THE HEARTBREAKERS Website & Instagram Official Account

F(x)Lab: What channel did you start selling BEDWIN & THE HEARTBREAKERS through? Now many brands are using different localized social media to increase their influence and expand their sales network. Does BEDWIN have this plan in mind?

Masafumi Watanabe: We have a basic e-commerce website of BEDWIN & THE HEARTBREAKERS, along with an Instagram official account. I hope we can open our own digital store in China. We are already considering the establishment of a WeChat online store. But I think I need local support to translate our culture into a new fan base in China.

In April 2020, BEDWIN & THE HEARTBREAKERS appointed F(x)Lab as its digital product R&D partner.

F(x)Lab: What is your expectation of the Chinese market? Why choose F(x)Lab as your partner?

Masafumi Watanabe: I’m interested in working with F(x)Lab because Rolls seems like a great guy, and he is a very trustworthy person. To share our culture and grow it together, we will utilize a community base and build a long-term relationship with Chinese friends, while supporting each other.

F(x)Lab: In the process of cooperating with F(x)Lab, have you encountered anything interesting?

Masafumi Watanabe: What I have encountered is that reaching out to Chinese customers to create our own community in China has been a unique experience. It is because that I believe F(x)Lab can be the messenger to deliver the BEDWIN & THE HEARTBREAKERS message/products to our friends in China.

2020 AUTUMN / WINTER COLLECTION “THE CHOICE OF NEW GENERATION” © BEDWIN & THE HEARTBREAKERS

Writer: Kimberly FENG

About F(x)Lab

F(x)Lab is a leading digital strategy agency dedicated for new luxury brands in China.

--

--

F(x)Lab
F(x)Lab
Editor for

Global Digital Innovation Agency. Focuses on the Creation of Digital Solutions for Luxury Brands.