Will Smith’s ‘Best Shape Of My Life’ Is Exactly Why So Many People Fail On Their Health Journey

Emma Colsey-Nicholls
FYTWORX
Published in
7 min readNov 26, 2021

--

Did It Need To Be That Hard?

will smith
Will Smith Instagram

Will Smith, the smooth-talking, chart-topping, box office smashing, Fresh Prince that 90’s kids like me grew up loving, took to Instagram to announce that he was in the worst shape of his life and that it was time to do something about it.

Blaming the weight gain on his latest role as Venus and Serena’s father in soon to be released movie, King Richard. He gained weight for the role but the small issue of a global pandemic meant that the weight gain continued after the role finished.

I mean who here didn’t gain a few pounds during 2019/2021? We applaud you Will for being human.

The ‘Best Shape Of My Life’ series premiered on Youtube on the 8th of November 2021, where Will embarks on a journey over six 20 minute episodes, with the goal of losing 20lb’s in 20 weeks.

You can watch the up’s and downs of his journey below, which I highly recommend you do (after you have read this article of course). Who doesn’t enjoy seeing how superstars live their extravagant, money is no limit lifestyles after all?

Rather than review the whole series I wanted to highlight the three main issues that raised a flag as I found myself feeling…

--

--

Emma Colsey-Nicholls
FYTWORX

Women’s Health and lifestyle coach. Top writer in Health. I write about health, habit creation and how to be a happier you. https://emmacolseynicholls.co.uk